Easy Online Insurance Continuing Education 877-488-9308
|Agents like WebCE on Facebook|Email WebCE Customer Service

Course Catalog

WebCE provides state-approved Montana Insurance Continuing Education with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your CE requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

Montana insurance CE course pricing:
You may select 24 hours of courses for $39.95 plus $0.75 for each additional hour. An additional $4.50 per course will be added to your total if you select paper course material.

Single MT Insurance continuing education courses start at just $4.95!
WebCE offers courses for the following MT license types:

Montana Insurance CE

Montana Insurance CE Requirements

Required Continuing Education Hours

Life and Health Producers

24 CE hours, including 3 hours of Ethics and 1 hour of legislative changes to the Montana statutes, are required every 2 year license term (see license term below).  Producers planning to sell the following product(s) have special training or education requirements as described below:

Special Training/Education Requirements

Long-Term Care (LTC)

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Montana, producers must complete an initial 8-hour, state-approved LTC training course. (Go to the course catalog to order WebCE's Long-Term Care: Programs, Policies, and Partnerships course, which fulfills this requirement.)  Producers may take any 8-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: From the date of completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24 months thereafter. (Go to the course catalog to order WebCE's Long-Term Care 4-Hour Training or 4-Hour Long-Term Care Review course, which fulfills this requirement.)  Producers may take any 4-hr NAIC approved LTC course for use in any licensed state.

Property and Casualty Producers

24 CE hours, including 3 hours of Ethics and 1 hour of legislative changes to the Montana statutes, are required every 2 year license term (see license term below).  Producers planning to sell the following product have special training or education requirements as described below:

Special Training/Education Requirements

Flood Insurance

All Montana property/casualty producers and adjusters who sell flood insurance should complete a one-time, 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training if instructed to do so by their insurer. (Go to the course catalog to order WebCE’s Flood Insurance Fundamentals: NFIP Training for Insurance Producers course, which fulfills this requirement.)

Adjusters

24 CE hours, including 3 hours of Ethics and 1 hour of legislative changes to the Montana statutes, are required every 2 year license term (see license term below).  Adjusters planning to sell the following product have special training or education requirements as described below:

Special Training/Education Requirements

Flood Insurance

All Montana property/casualty producers and adjusters who sell flood insurance should complete a one-time, 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) training if instructed to do so by their insurer. (Go to the course catalog to order WebCE’s Flood Insurance Fundamentals: NFIP Training for Insurance Producers course, which fulfills this requirement.)

Limited Lines Credit Only Producers

5 CE hours, including 1 hour of legislative changes to the Montana statutes, are required every 2 year license term (see license term below).

License Term

The license term is every 2 years, based on the first day of the licensee’s birth month in odd- or even-numbered years.  Licensees who were born in an even-numbered year will be required to complete their CE in even-numbered years.  Licensees who were born in an odd-numbered year will be required to complete their CE in odd-numbered years.

Nonresident CE Requirements

  • Nonresident producers are not required to complete the Montana CE requirements as long as the producer is in good standing with his or her home state.  Nonresidents are required to submit to the Montana Commissioner of Securities and Insurance a letter of certification from their home states certifying compliance in that state. If the home state does not require CE, the nonresident producer must complete Montana’s CE requirements.  Nonresident producers must submit the renewal compliance form sent to them by the state of Montana prior to the license expiration date. 
  • Nonresident adjusters are not required to completed the Montana CE requirements as long as the adjuster completes the CE requirements of his or her home state and the home state is one of the following Montana approved reciprocal states: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah or Wyoming.  If the home state is not reciprocal with the state of Montana, the adjuster will need to complete the Montana CE requirements (see “Adjusters” under "Required Continuing Education Hours.")  In order to renew the Montana license, nonresident adjusters must submit the renewal compliance form sent to them by the state of Montana prior to the license expiration date.

CE Subject Requirements

Category restrictions:
Licensees must complete 3 hours of Ethics and  1 hour in approved legislative changes to the Montana statutes. All other hours for all licensees except Limited Lines credit only may be completed by taking courses approved in any line of authority.  Limited lines credit only producers must take the 5-hour CE requirement only in the areas of law, ethics, or limited lines credit insurance.

Course presentation:
Licensees may complete the Montana CE requirements through self-study.  The self-study course and exam can be either paper or online.

Study requirements:
Students should read the course material prior to taking the final exam.

Final Exam Requirements

Exam proctor requirements:
Exams are required to be monitored by a disinterested third party. A disinterested third party is an individual with no family or financial relationship to the student, therefore a proctor should not serve for examinations of family members, relatives, or dependents; employers or supervisors; employees or subordinates; partners, joint ventures, or co-owners; or anyone in whom the proctor or instructor has an economic or other interest in assuring the successful outcome of the examination.

Exam rules:
The final exam must be closed book, and no outside information may be used. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

CE Carryover Allowance

No excess CE credit hours may be carried over to the next license term.

Course Repetition Rules

A course may not be taken for credit more than once within a biennial (2-year) period.

Certificate of Completion

Certificates of completion will be available to print online immediately after the final exam is passed. Licensees must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her files for 3 years.

CE Completion Reporting

Next-Day Reporting - WebCE reports course completions electronically to State Based Systems (SBS) every business day.

License Renewal Process

Resident licensees do not renew their license.  The licensee must report the CE completions to the Office of the Insurance Commissioner on or before the license expiration date in order to maintain a valid insurance license.

CE Exemptions

Licensees are exempt from CE requirements if one of following is true:

  • The licensee holds a temporary license.
  • The licensee has been otherwise exempted by the Montana commissioner.

Helpful Links

Check your license status

View your CE transcript

Go to Montana Commissioner Web site

State Contact Information

Montana Commissioner of Securities and Insurance
Phone: (406) 444-2040
Fax: (406) 444-3497
Email: producerlicensing@mt.gov
Web site: www.csi.mt.gov

Mailing Address: 840 Helena Avenue
                               Helen, MT  59601

WebCE provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither WebCE nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.