WebCE provides state-approved Alabama Insurance Continuing Education with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your CE requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

Alabama insurance CE course pricing:
You may select 24 hours of courses for $39.95 plus $0.75 for each additional hour. An additional $10.00 per course will be added to your total if you select paper course material.

Single AL Insurance continuing education courses start at just $4.95!

Alabama Insurance CE

Alabama Insurance Continuing Education Requirements


Required Alabama Insurance Continuing Education Hours

Producers

24-hours of insurance CE, including 3-hours of ethics are required every 2-year license term.

Adjusters

24-hours of insurance CE, including 3-hours of ethics are required every 2-year license term.

Combined Licenses

24-hours of insurance CE, including 3-hours of ethics are required every 2-year license term.

Title Agents

24-hours of insurance CE, including 3-hours of ethics are required every 2-year license term.

Service Representatives

12-hours of insurance CE, including 2-hours of ethics are required every 2-year license term.

Insurance License Renewal

License Term

The license term ends on the last day of the producer's birth month, every 2 years. Even birth years renew every even year. Odd birth years renew every odd year.

License Renewal Process

Producer licenses: may be renewed as early as 45 days prior to the licensee’s birth month until the last day of their birth month, and within a grace period of 30 days after the last day of their birth month with a late fee of $50 added to the regular renewal fee. If not renewed before the end of the grace period, the license will be expired.


Adjuster licenses: may be renewed as early as 45 days prior to the licensee's birth month until the last day of their birth month, with a renewal fee of $80. If the license is not renewed by the last day of the birth month, the license is given a 30 day grace period with a $40 late fee plus the $80 renewal fee. If the license is not renewed by the last day of the birth month, or by the 30 day grace period, the license will then be expired.

State Insurance Product Training Requirements

Annuity Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell annuity products.

Effective January 1, 2017:  All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate annuity products must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours by July 1, 2017.  All producers licensed on or after January 1, 2017 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products.  

*Residents who have completed this training in another state with laws similar to Alabama law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Long-Term Care Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell long-term care products.

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.
 
Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24-moths thereafter.


Additional Information

NFIP Flood Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell flood insurance products.

One-Time Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Insurance CE Exam Requirements

Exam Rules

Self-study final exams are closed book. Producers may not refer to the course material while the exam is in progress. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Monitor Requirements

Self-study final exams must be monitored by a disinterested third party. Proctors may not serve for examinations of family members, relatives, or dependents; employers or supervisors; employees or subordinates; co-workers; current or former teachers or pupils; personal friends, or significant others; or for anyone in whom the monitor has an economic or other interest in assuring the successful outcome of the examination. Proctors that can be approved by the Department are professionals such as an attorney, minister, accountant, librarian, or a teacher from a local high school or college.

Passing Score

Self-Study Final Exam: 70%

Repetition and Carryover

Carryover Rules

As of January 1, 2013, no CE carryover hours in excess of the required 24 or 12 total hours will be allowed.  If you had any excess hours as of December 31, 2012, it will be used to add to your total calculations for the next CE cycle, but no excess CE hours above the 24 or 12 earned after December 31, 2012 will be allowed.

Repetition Rules

Courses may not be taken for credit more than once in a 2-year compliance period.

  • In order to obtain CE and avoid course duplication - Begin the first day after the renewal birth month and end the last day of the month, in the birth month at 2 year renewal.

Reporting and Insurance CE Certificates of Completion

Certificates of Completion

WebCE provides online, printable certificates in Alabama. Certificates of completion are available to print online immediately after the final exam is passed. Because WebCE reports CE credits directly to SBS, certificates should not be sent to the Alabama Insurance Department unless required for auditing purposes. Producers are required to maintain the original certificate of completion in his or her files.

Reporting

Next-Day Reporting: WebCE reports course completions electronically to State Based Systems (SBS) every business day.

Insurance CE Course Requirements

Course Presentation

Online and paper self-study.

Study Requirements

Self-Study Requirements: Students should read the course material prior to taking a closed-book, proctored final exam. 

Category Restrictions

There are no category restrictions in this state. Producers and Service Representatives may take any course approved for CE credit in Alabama.  Adjusters and Title agents may take any course approved for P&C credit in Alabama.

Non-Resident Insurance CE Requirements

State-Specific Insurance Product Training

Annuity

Effective January 1, 2017: All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate annuity products must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours by July 1, 2017. All producers licensed on or after January 1, 2017 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products. *Residents who have completed this training in another state with laws similar to Alabama law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Long-Term Care

  • Initial 8-hour LTC training requirement: Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC insurance products in Alabama, non-resident producers must complete an initial 8-hour, NAIC LTC training course approved in any licensed state.
  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training requirement: After completing the 8-hour initial training requirement, non-resident producers must complete 4 hours of state-approved LTC training every 24-month period following the initial training and every 24 months thereafter.

Non-Resident Insurance CE Requirements

Adjusters

Non-resident adjusters who satisfy the adjuster requirement in their resident state or designated home state will be deemed compliant for the Alabama adjuster requirement.

Exemptions from Insurance CE Requirements

Insurance CE Exemptions

The following are exempt from Alabama CE requirements:

  • Individuals licensed for less than 12 months at the time of their first renewal.
  • Non-resident producers in good standing with their home states.
  • Non-resident adjusters who have met CE compliance requirements for their resident state or designated home state. If there is no CE requirement for the Non-resident adjuster's resident state or designated home state, they are then required to complete Alabama CE. For a list of states who do not require CE, or who do not license independent adjusters, please go to the Alabama DOI Website.
  • Producers licensed only for lines of insurance for which an examination is not required.
  • Producers licensed in Alabama for 15 years and who are at least 60 years of age. Note: Only those who were qualified for this exemption before the date of January 1, 2013, may continue the exemption and will be grandfathered in. They may continue to request exemption unless the license goes inactive for over a year, in which case this exemption will no longer apply.
  • Temporary license holders pending passage of the written examination for that line of insurance.
  • Active members of the Alabama legislature during any portion of the compliance period.

Producers who are exempt from CE, will still be required to complete LTC training. The Federal Law will not allow exemptions for LTC.

Contact Info

Alabama Department of Insurance

State Based Systems (SBS)


WebCE provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither WebCE nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.