AFIS Certification Requirements

Grow your future in the agribussiness and farm industry with the Agribusiness and Farm Insurance Specialist (AFIS) certification from IRMI.

Obtaining the AFIS Certification

The core curriculum for the AFIS program consists of the five parts.

  • AFIS 1: Farm Property
  • AFIS 2: Farm Liability
  • AFIS 3: Farm Auto, Workers Compensation, and Umbrella Insurance
  • AFIS 4: Special Farm Property Insurance Lines
  • AFIS 5: Miscellaneous Farm Insurance Lines

Participants must pass all five courses within five years to qualify as a holder of the AFIS certification. Each course is independent of the others and you may complete them in any order you choose.

View Catalog

AFIS Certification Renewal

Once the AFIS certification is complete, certification holders have 12 months to complete six (6) hours of approved agribusiness continuing education credit to continue using and displaying the AFIS certification. You must earn the six (6) hours of approved AFIS continuing education credit by 12/31 annually.

Every three (3) years from the date the certification is received, you must earn the six (6) hours of credit by attending the Emmett J. Vaughan Agribusiness Conference.

Online AFIS Renewal Courses

The AFIS Certification Learning Center offers several online CE courses that qualify for AFIS Reaccreditation credit

View Catalog

Attend Approved Programs

Attend or participate in other approved conferences, seminars or educational programs.  Go to the “Completer Code Redemption” page of the AFIS Learning Center to report your attendance and pay the reaccreditation fee. You will need the Completer Code number from the Certificate of Completion you received when you do so. The fee for this reaccreditation option pays the costs of administering this part of the AFIS program.   

There is no renewal fee for an AFIS certification holder that meets their continuing education renewal requirement by attending the AgriCon Conference. You will be given a Completer Code to use at checkout to obtain the renewal credit.

>>List of Approved Events

>>AFIS Reaccreditation Certification Form