MLIS Certification Requirements

Distinguish yourself from the competition and certify your expertise in the fundamentals of professional liability insurance with the Management Liability Insurance Specialist (MLIS) certification from IRMI.

Obtaining the MLIS Certification

The core curriculum for the MLIS program consists of the five parts.

  • Cyber and Privacy Liability Exposures and How to Insure Them
  • EPL: Understanding the Exposures and Insurance Coverage
  • Fiduciary Liability: What You Need to Know About Exposures and Insurance
  • How to Insure D&O Liabilities
  • Understanding D&O Exposures

Participants must pass all five courses within five years to qualify as a holder of the MLIS certification. Each course is independent of the others and you may complete them in any order you choose.

View Catalog

MLIS Certification Renewal

Once you earn the MLIS certification, you will have 12 months to complete six (6) hours of approved MLIS continuing education credit. Thereafter, you must earn six (6) hours of approved MLIS continuing education credit every 12 months to continue using and displaying the MLIS certification.

Online MLIS Renewal Courses

The MLIS Certification Learning Center offers several online CE courses that qualify for MLIS Reaccreditation credit.

View Catalog

Attend Approved Programs

Attend or participate in other approved conferences, seminars or educational programs.  Go to the “Completer Code Redemption” page in the MLIS Learning Center to report your attendance and pay the reaccreditation fee. You will need the Completer Code number from the Certificate of Completion you received when you do so. The fee for this reaccreditation option pays the costs of administering this part of the MLIS program.

>> List of Approved Programs

>>MLIS Reaccreditation Certification Form