COVID-19 Industry Updates for Insurance, Securities, CPA & Tax, Real Estate, and Funeral

by Stacey Cessna, WebCE Director of Marketing | Aug 30, 2021

WebCE is continuing to work with state representatives, regulators, industry associations, and outside vendors to provide state-by-state updates about renewal deadlines, proctor requirements, and other industry updates.

WebCE is committed to the health and safety of our employees, customers, and local communities. We are continuing to carefully monitor federal and local government guidance in light of the coronavirus outbreak.

Rest assured, WebCE’s infrastructure allows for WebCE employees to telework and perform all essential business functions remotely. Our website and all electronic services will remain available 24/7. At this time, we do not see any business risks with regards to the availability of our products or services due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Resources for Insurance and Securities Industries

Updates for Insurance Professionals

  • IA: Insurance license expiration dates have been extended through the Governor's proclamation. Bulletin 20-05.
  • IN: Insurance licensees IDOI will modify its own internal policies by implementing a 60-day grace period relating to renewals and cancellations for all licensees, certificate holders, and registrants. This includes premium tax and surplus lines premium tax filings. Any penalties assessed due to late payment during this period will be waived. The 60-day extension will also be applied to the Continuing Education (CE) Requirements for insurance producers. Bulletin 252.
  • KY: Department of Insurance will be extending the time requirements for completion and submission of continuing education hours. Beginning with those who had continuing education due by March 31, 2020, and continuing until the month in which the state of emergency ends, licensees will have sixty (60) days following the end of the state of emergency to complete continuing education requirements. The reporting period of the completion of the continuing hours to the Department is also extended appropriately. This action only extends CE deadlines, and does not extend license renewal deadlines. License renewal is completed electronically, and currently has a 60-day grace period. DOI Announcement on CE Extensions.
  • OK: All occupational licenses issued by any agency, board, or commission of the State of Oklahoma that expire during this emergency shall be extended so long as this Order is in effect. All occupational licenses extended during this Order will expire fourteen (14) days following the withdrawal or termination of this Order. Read more.
  • PA: Insurance licenses - The Commissioner of the Commonwealth, pursuant to 40 P.S. 310.8(e), will temporarily waive CE requirements for licensees who cannot meet requirements due to extenuating circumstances related to COVID-19. Beginning Monday, March 16, 2020 the Pennsylvania Insurance Department, pursuant to 40 P.S. 310.8(e), will also temporarily extend the licensing renewal deadline for licensees impacted by extenuating circumstances related to COVID-19. These extensions and waivers expressed in Notice to Licensees regarding Education Courses and License Renewals published on 3/19/2020 will continue until further notice.
  • WY: Insurance licensees - the WY Insurance Department will consider waiving license late/reinstatement fees for licensees who are directly affected by COVID-19 (those who test positive or are a primary care giver of someone who test positive) and are unable to renew their insurance license timely. These requests for exception must be emailed to the Licensing Section - [email protected] and should include the licensee’s name, Wyoming license number, expiration and a brief summary of how their situation requires an exception.

Self-Study Exam Proctor Requirements Waived for Insurance Professionals

  • AZ Department of Insurance has issued an executive order saying insurance producers do not need to have post-course examinations proctored.
  • MA Division of Insurance has waived the proctor requirements for self-study CE exams until further notice.
  • MI Department of Insurance and Financial Services will allow CE Providers to accept self-attestation of the completion of CE final exams for online self-study CE courses until further notice.
  • NJ: On August 10, 2020, the NJ DBI signed and released Bulletin No. 20-29 to extend the waiver of monitored self-study continuing education course exams until the state of emergency is over.
  • NV Division of Insurance is waiving the proctor requirement for self-study CE exams until September 30, 2021.
  • PA Insurance Department has waived the proctor requirement for self-study CE and PLE until further notice.
  • SC Department of Insurance is waiving the proctor requirement for self-study CE exam until further notice.
  • VT Department of Insurance is waiving the proctoring requirement for self-study CE exams until further notice.

Updates for CPA and Tax Professionals

  • NASBA Updates on the Impacts of COVID-19
  • AL Board of Accountancy has removed the self-study CPE limitations until further notice.
  • CA Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) issued a new continuing education (CE) extension waiver for licenses that expire between March 31, 2020 and May 31, 2021. Licensees have until September 30, 2021 to satisfy any waived CE requirements, unless the waiver is further extended. Statement from CBA President.
  • PA: The governor has granted a suspension of the restriction limiting the number of hours a licensee was allowed to complete through online self-study classes. For the current biennial renewal period, all licensees are permitted to complete the full 80 hours of continuing education online, during the COVID-19 pandemic. Continuing-Education Restrictions Suspended for Licensed Professionals
  • TX: State Board of Accountancy has granted a 90-day extension for completing CPE. However, the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy still encourages licensees to complete their CPE as soon as possible. Read more.

Updates for Real Estate Professionals

  • KY: Real estate license CE deadlines have been extended until the state of emergency is concluded, plus 30 days.
  • OK: All occupational licenses issued by any agency, board, or commission of the State of Oklahoma that expire during this emergency shall be extended so long as this Order is in effect. All occupational licenses extended during this Order will expire fourteen (14) days following the withdrawal or termination of this Order. Read more.
  • OR: The Oregon Real Estate Agency is currently offering a 30-day extension for the continuing education deadline if you are renewing your license active. August Bulletin.

Updates for Funeral Professionals

  • IN: State Board of Funeral and Cemetery Service has waived the maximum number of hours of continuing education that may be obtained through distance learning during the two year period.
  • KS: Per the Executive Order No. 20-19, all state agencies shall extend renewal deadlines for any occupational or professional license, certificate, permit, or registration issued by a state agency or any board, commission, division, or other licensing authority within a state agency to any individual, business, or organization, that was in good standing as of March 12, 2020, and that has expired or will expire during the State of Disaster Emergency, and such licenses, certificates, permits, and registrations shall remain valid until 90 days following the termination of the State of Disaster Emergency. The requirement on the maximum of 50% of home study/correspondence courses has been lifted. Individual licenses due March 31, April 30 and May 31, 2020 may submit a maximum of twelve (12) hours of home study/correspondence hours (for embalmers and funeral directors) and a maximum of two (2) hours of home study/correspondence hours for crematory operators.  
  • NE Department of Health and Human Services will not enforce any limit on the number of continuing education hours obtained online or by home study for renewal or reinstatement of any type of license during the State Declaration of Public Health Emergency. Continuing Competency Wavier FAQs
  • NM Funeral Licensees will be given a 3 month extension on completing their CE requirement when the public health emergency is lifted. Public Notice.
  • NC Board of Funeral Directors has waived the 2-hour limit for online continuing education instruction and will now permit all 5 hours of the mandatory CE instruction to be completed online. The waiver applies to Continuing Education requirements for the 2021 renewal period. Licensee Advisory
  • OH Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors confirmed that it is a hardship to obtain In Person hours at this time and has decided to exempt the In Person, face to face requirement for the current Compliance Period (12-31-2020). All 18 hours can now be acquired through Approved Webinars and Online Programs. OBDFE News.
  • TX Funeral Service Commission has suspended the 4-hour in person CE requirements for those renewing June 30th and beyond.

We thank you for trusting us with your education and training needs and encourage any feedback on how we can continue to improve the way we serve you.

Last Updated: August 31