Online Continuing Education Courses

Massachusetts Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education

Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop-down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Massachusetts Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 12712

What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for Massachusetts?


60 CE hours for first renewals
45 CE hours for subsequent renewals, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours

Public Adjusters

15 CE hours total

Are there any subject area requirements for Massachusetts Insurance CE?


Ethics: 3 CE hours

Are there any course approval restrictions for Massachusetts Insurance CE?

Producers licensees may take courses in any line of authority. Public Adjusters may only take courses specifically approved for Public Adjusters.

When does Massachusetts Insurance CE have to be completed?

The license's birthdate, every 3 years.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

You cannot repeat the same course within 3 years from the original course completion date.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for Massachusetts?

Annuity Best Interest Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Massachusetts law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for Massachusetts?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-months, following the initial training requirement.

State Specific Training
Hours: 2
Frequency: For residents and non-residents who have completed an initial or/and ongoing NAIC LTC Training course in another state, they must take a 2-hour MassHealth Training course specific to Massachusetts.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for Massachusetts?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood products.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Producers may carry forward a maximum of 45 excess CE hours to the next 3-year license term. Public Adjusters cannot carry over excess hours. Excess ethics hours will be carried forward as general hours.

What is the Massachusetts Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic renewals will be available 90 days prior to the expiration date
  2. To complete license renewal, Continuing Education requirements must be met prior to submission of a renewal application.
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE Massachusetts Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students should read through the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
  • Self-study exams are closed-book and require a monitor.
  • Monitor requirements: A disinterested third party minimum age of 18 years who is not a friend and who has no family or financial relationship.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Massachusetts Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report Massachusetts Insurance CE course completions?

Twice every business day to State Based Systems (SBS).

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Massachusetts Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her files for 5 years

What are the Massachusetts Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-resident licensees who meet CE requirements in their home state are not required to meet Massachusettes CE requirements.
Non-residents who have completed an initial or ongoing NAIC LTC Training course in another state, they must take a 2-hour MassHealth Training course specific to Massachusetts.

Are there any CE exemptions?

The following individuals are exempt from CE requirements:
  • The licensee holds a viatical brokers/representative license.
  • The licensee holds a reinsurance intermediary brokers/managers license.
  • The licensee holds a surplus lines brokers license.
  • The licensee holds an advisors license.
  • The licensee is on active military duty.
  • The licensee has been continuously licensed since April 4, 1983, and has not become licensed for a new line of authority since the original license issuance.
  • The licensee holds an auto club agents license.
  • The licensee holds one of the following limited lines authorities: travel, accident & baggage insurance, or credit insurance.

Does Massachusetts require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

Massachusetts Division of Insurance

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 6/10/2024