Online Continuing Education Courses

North Carolina Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education

Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop-down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

North Carolina Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 12712

What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for North Carolina?

Producers & All Adjusters

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours
  • Flood: 3 CE hours for property, personal lines and adjuster licensees every other renewal period

Are there any course approval restrictions for North Carolina Insurance CE?

Licensees may take courses in any line of authority.

When does North Carolina Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the licensee's birth month, every 2 years, based on odd/even birth year.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for North Carolina?

Annuity Best Interest Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to North Carolina law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for North Carolina?

Licensees must hold an accident and health license in addition to completing a 10 hour LTC Exam Prep course and pass the state exam prior to taking an initial LTC course.
Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every license period, following the initial training requirement.

Non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to North Carolina's law will be deemed compliant for North Carolina's requirement.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for North Carolina?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: Training must be completed every 4 years.

All resident licensees that hold a property, personal lines, or adjuster license, and nonresident adjusters with North Carolina CE requirements, must complete 3 hours of flood in their first compliance period and then every other compliance period thereafter (every 4 years).

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess hours may be carried over to the next renewal period. Excess ethics or flood credits will carry over to the next biennial compliance period as general credits.

What is the North Carolina Insurance license renewal process?

Producers: No license renewals in this state. License is perpetual as long as agent does not go more than 1 year without a valid appointment and meets CE requirement.

Adjusters & Public Adjusters: Residents and Non-Resident licenses are processed electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Licenses expire on March 31, but renewal applications are available to be paid in the annual renewal period of 60 days before this date through May 30.

What are the WebCE North Carolina Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students must read the course material and answer each set of end-of-chapter quizzes with a score of at least 70 percent before attempting a final exam.
  • Self-study exams are closed-book and do not require a monitor.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

How often does WebCE report North Carolina Insurance CE course completions?

immediately upon course completion to Sircon.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for North Carolina Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in their files for 5 years.

What are the North Carolina Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

  • Non-resident adjusters and public adjusters who have adopted North Carolina as their home state are required to complete the resident CE requirements of North Carolina.
  • Non-resident adjusters and public adjusters who have not adopted North Carolina as their home state are not required to complete the North Carolina CE requirements as long as the adjuster is in good standing with his or her home state.
  • Non-resident producers are not required to complete the North Carolina CE requirements as long as the producer is in good standing in his or her home state.

Are there any CE exemptions?

Licensees are exempt from CE requirements for up to a year if one of following is true:
  • Licensees called to active military duty.
  • Licensees that have a long-term medical disability
  • Limited Representatives
  • A producer who was granted an exemption from CE requirements prior to October 1, 2010 continues to be exempt from CE as long as the producer certifies to the Commissioner that he or she: (1) is age 65 or older; (2) has been licensed continuously for at least 25 years; and (3) either: (A) hold a CLU, CPCU, ChFC, FLMI or IIA designation; or (B) certifies to the Commissioner annually that the producer is an inactive agent who neither solicits applications for insurance nor takes part in the day to day operation of an insurance agency.
*Licensees must submit a waiver to the state to be officially waived from CE.

Does North Carolina require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

NC Department of Insurance


This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 6/14/2024