WebCE provides state-approved Missouri Insurance Continuing Education with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your CE requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

Missouri insurance CE course pricing:
You may select 16 hours of courses for $39.95 plus $0.75 for each additional hour. An additional $10.00 per course will be added to your total if you select paper course material.

Single MO Insurance continuing education courses start at just $4.95!
WebCE offers courses for the following MO license types:

Missouri Insurance CE

Missouri Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 8009566


Required Missouri Insurance Continuing Education Hours


16-hours of insurance CE, including 3-hours of ethics are required every 2-year license term.

Multiple License

16-hours of insurance CE, including 3-hours of ethics are required every 2-year license term.

Insurance License Renewal

License Term

Licenses renew 2 years from the license issuance date and every 2 years thereafter.

State Insurance Product Training Requirements

Annuity Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell annuity products.

Effective March 30, 2017:  All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate annuity products in Missouri, must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours by September 30, 2017.  All producers licensed on or after March 30, 2017 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products.  
*Producers who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to the Missouri law, will be deemed compliant for the Missouri requirement. 
(Go to the course catalog to order WebCE's 4-Hour Annuity Training Course, which fulfills this requirement).

Long-Term Care Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell long-term care products.

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.
Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24-months thereafter.

Additional Information

NFIP Flood Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell flood insurance products.

One-Time Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Insurance CE Exam Requirements

Exam Rules

The final exam is closed book. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Monitor Requirements

*Effective September 30, 2016: Self-study final exams do not require a proctor.

Passing Score

Self-Study Final Exam: 70%

Repetition and Carryover

Carryover Rules

All excess hours earned during a 2-year license term may be carried forward to the next 2-year license term.

Repetition Rules

A particular course may not be taken for credit more than once within a 2-year license term.

Reporting and Insurance CE Certificates of Completion

Certificates of Completion

WebCE provides online, printable certificates of completion in Missouri. The producer must transfer information from the certificates of completion to Missouri’s summary report form, which must be submitted to the Missouri DIFP with the license renewal. Producers must keep a copy of the summary report and the original certificates of completion in their files for 4 years. To print the CE Summary Report click here.


Next-Day Reporting: WebCE reports course completions electronically to State Based Systems (SBS) every business day.

Insurance CE Course Requirements

Course Presentation

Producers can take online or paper-based self-study.

Study Requirements

Self-Study Requirements: Producers should read the course material prior to taking a closed-book final exam.

Category Restrictions

Producers must take courses approved for the line of insurance they are licensed to sell. Producers licensed for multiple lines of authority are not required to divide the educational hours evenly between the lines of authority in which qualified.

Non-Resident Insurance CE Requirements

State-Specific Insurance Product Training

Long-Term Care

  • Initial 8-hour training requirement: A producer may not sell, solicit, or negotiate a qualified LTC Partnership Plan unless he or she is licensed for both life and health and has completed an initial 8-hour training course pre-approved by the Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions, and Professional Regulation (DIFP).
  • Ongoing 4-hour training requirement: After completing the initial 8-hour training requirement, producers continuing to sell LTC must complete a 4-hour ongoing training course, pre-approved by the Missouri DIFP, during each 2-year license term, thereafter.

Non-Resident Insurance CE Requirements

  • All non-resident producers must file a current and original certification letter showing compliance with CE requirements in their resident states. If the individual is a resident of a state that participates in Producer Data Base (PDB), a letter of certification is not required.
  • Non-resident producers who reside in states that do not require CE must complete CE courses approved by the Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions, and Professional Regulation (DIFP) and must list completed courses on the Continuing Education Certification Summary. (See Required Continuing Education Hours section above.)
  • If the producer has not taken an 8-hour NAIC LTC training course in another state, the nonresident producer must comply with the Missouri LTC training requirements

Exemptions from Insurance CE Requirements

Insurance CE Exemptions

The following are exempt from Missouri CE requirements:

  • The producer has suffered a serious physical injury or illness.
  • The producer is on active duty in the Armed Forces for an extended time.
  • The producer sells only crop insurance.
  • The producer sells only pre-arranged funeral plan insurance.
  • The producer is at least 70 years old.
  • The producer's license is restricted to Credit.

Contact Info

WebCE provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither WebCE nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.