CRIS Certification Requirements

Build your career in the construction industry with the Construction Risk and Insurance Specialist (CRIS) certification from IRMI.

Obtaining the CRIS Certification

The core curriculum for the CRIS program consists of the five parts.

  • Commercial Auto, Surety, CIPs, and Miscellaneous Lines
  • Commercial Liability Insurance for Contractors
  • Contractual Risk Transfer in Construction
  • Property Insurance for Contractors
  • Workers Compensation for Contractors

Participants must pass all five courses within five years to qualify as a holder of the CRIS certification. Each course is independent of the others and you may complete them in any order you choose.

View Catalog

CRIS Certification Renewal

Once you earn the CRIS certification, you will have 12 months to complete six (6) hours of approved CRIS continuing education credit. Thereafter, you must earn six (6) hours of approved CRIS continuing education credit every 12 months to continue using and displaying the CRIS certification.

Online CRIS Renewal Courses

The CRIS Certification Learning Center offers several online CE courses that qualify for CRIS Reaccreditation credit

View Catalog

Attend Approved Programs

Attend or participate in other approved conferences, seminars or educational programs.  Go to the “Completer Code Redemption” page in the CRIS Learning Center to report your attendance and pay the reaccreditation fee. You will need the Completer Code number from the Certificate of Completion you received when you do so. The fee for this reaccreditation option pays the costs of administering this part of the CRIS program.  

>> List of Approved Programs

>> CRIS Reaccreditation Certification Form

>> CRIS Webinar Certification Form