TRIP Certification Requirements

Kick your career into overdrive in the transportation industry with the Transportation Risk Insurance Professional certification from IRMI.

Obtaining the TRIP Certification

The core curriculum for the TRIP program consists of the five parts.

  • Essentials of Regulations, Statutes, and Motor Carrier Liability Coverage
  • Hauling the Freight: Cargo Risks and Insurance
  • Liability Insurance for the Transportation Industry
  • Understanding the Transportation Industry and Its Risks
  • Workers Compensation for the Transportation Industry

Participants must pass all five courses within five years to qualify as a holder of the TRIP certification. Each course is independent of the others and you may complete them in any order you choose.

View Catalog

TRIP Certification Renewal

Once you earn the TRIP certification, you will have 12 months to complete six (6) hours of approved TRIP continuing education credit. Thereafter, you must earn six (6) hours of approved TRIP continuing education credit every 12 months to continue using and displaying the TRIP certification. 

Online TRIP Renewal Courses

The TRIP Certification Learning Center offers several online CE courses that qualify for TRIP Reaccreditation credit.

View Catalog

Attend Approved Programs

Attend or participate in other approved conferences, seminars or educational programs.  Go to the “Completer Code Redemption” page in the TRIP Learning Center to report your attendance and pay the reaccreditation fee. You will need the Completer Code number from the Certificate of Completion you received when you do so. The fee for this reaccreditation option pays the costs of administering this part of the TRIP program.

>> List of Approved Programs

>>TRIP Reaccreditation Certification Form