Online Continuing Education Courses

Oregon Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education

Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop-down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Oregon Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 9954

What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for Oregon?

Producers & Adjusters

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours
  • OR Law: 3 CE hours

Are there any course approval restrictions for Oregon Insurance CE?

Licensees may take courses in any line of authority. Adjusters may take courses approved for Property/Casualty credit.

When does Oregon Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the licensee's birth month, every 2 years, based on odd/even birth year.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for Oregon?

Annuity Best Interest Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Effective January 1st, 2024, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards.
  • Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 12/31/2023 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 6/30/2024 to be able to take the 1-hour course.
  • Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities.
Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Oregon law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for Oregon?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 2-year license period, following the initial training requirement.

Residents and non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state with laws similar to Oregon's law will be compliant with the requirement.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for Oregon?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 2
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 2-year license period, following the initial training requirement.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess CE hours are not allowed to be carried forward to the next 2-year license term.

What is the Oregon Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic renewals will be available 90 days prior to the expiration date
  2. Continuing Education requirements must be met prior to submission of a renewal application. Providers have 15 days to report your CE completions, so please plan accordingly to avoid a lapse in licensure.
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE Oregon Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study or online classroom equivalent courses.
  • Self-Study Course Presentation:
    • Students must read the course material and answer each set of end-of-chapter quizzes with a score of at least 70 percent before attempting a final exam.
    • Self-study exams are closed-book and do not require a monitor.
    • Self-study final exam passing score: 70%
  • Classroom Equivalent Courses:
    • Students must take and pass a series of interactive quizzes throughout the course with a minimum score of 70 percent for each interactive quiz.
    • Classroom equivalent courses do not have final exams.
  • If the final exam or interactive quizzes are not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
  • IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Oregon Insurance Department requires that a student may not complete more than 8 hours of continuing education credit in one day. This means that:
    • A course approved for greater than 8 hours will be considered to take 2 or more days of study to complete the exam. Multiple smaller courses can be completed within 1 day of study as long as they are combined 8 hours credit or less.
    • The total hours that may be completed is equal to the number of days x 8 hours.
    • For example: Any course that is worth 9-16 hours will take a minimum of 2 days to complete. Any course that is worth 17-24 hours will take a minimum of 3 days to complete.

What is the access period for WebCE Oregon Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report Oregon Insurance CE course completions?

Twice every business day to State Based Systems (SBS).

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Oregon Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees should keep original copies of certificates for their records.

What are the Oregon Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Producers: Non-resident producers who meet CE requirements in their home state are not required to meet Oregon CE requirements.
Adjusters: Non-resident Adjusters must have completed at least 3 hours of Law in your resident state which is similar to the Oregon requirement, or take a 3 hour Oregon Law course. If you have completed Adjuster CE in another state, it can count towards the Oregon requirement:
  • If you select providers/courses approved for OR as well as your resident state, your credit will be uploaded in to your transcript with Oregon
  • If your CE is not uploaded to Oregon, you will have to send your CE certificates at time of renewal. (Do not send to us until you have completed the full 24 hours of CE)
  • If your resident state only requires 18 hour of CE for example, you will need to complete the additional needed to meet the Oregon requirement of 24 hours

Are there any CE exemptions?

The following are exempt from Oregon CE requirements:
  • Individuals holding limited lines licenses for which an exam is not required
  • Individuals who are retired, are at least 58 years of age, have been licensed for at least 10 years, are authorized to transact life insurance only, and will be servicing existing policies only (exemption must be requested)

Does Oregon require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

Oregon Insurance Division

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 5/8/2024