Online Continuing Education Courses

South Carolina Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education

Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop-down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

South Carolina Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 164157

What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for South Carolina?


24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours

Are there any course approval restrictions for South Carolina Insurance CE?

Licensees must take at least 8 hours in line of authority. Multi-licensed producers must take a minimum of 8 hours in each license type held. Excess ethics credits may not be applied to cover the minimum 8 hours needed in each license specific requirement.

When does South Carolina Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the licensee's birth month, every 2 years, based on odd/even birth year.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

You cannot repeat the same course within 2 years from the original course completion date.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for South Carolina?

Annuity Best Interest Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to South Carolina law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for South Carolina?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every license period, following the initial training requirement.

Residents and non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state with laws similar to South Carolina's law will be compliant with the requirement.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for South Carolina?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be completed to sell flood insurance products.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

A maximum of 18 credit hours can be carried over into the next license term. Ethics credits will be carried over as general credit.

What is the South Carolina Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic renewals will be available 90 days prior to the expiration date and within a grace period of 30 days after the last day of their birth month.
  2. All resident producers must complete CE before the renewal becomes available on NIPR. Resident producers are encouraged to complete their CE hours at least a week in advance of their expiration date.
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE South Carolina Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students should read through the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
  • Self-study exams are closed-book and require a monitor.
  • Monitor requirements: A disinterested third party minimum age of 18 years who has no family or financial relationship.
  • Exams may be remotely monitored. Please refer to our Virtual Monitoring Guide for more information.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE South Carolina Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report South Carolina Insurance CE course completions?

Twice every business day to State Based Systems (SBS).

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for South Carolina Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her files for 5 years.

What are the South Carolina Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-resident producers who meet the CE requirements of their home states do not have to comply with South Carolina CE requirements.

Are there any CE exemptions?

A licensee who has 25 years or more of licensure and is 65 years of age or older may apply for CE exemption.

Does South Carolina require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

SC Department of Insurance


This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 5/6/2024