Online Continuing Education Courses

Alabama Funeral Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Alabama Funeral Continuing Education Requirements

Funeral Continuing Education Provider Number: P0009


What are the Funeral Continuing Education requirements for Alabama?

Funeral Directors, Embalmers & Cremationists

8 hours total

Are there any subject area requirements for Alabama Funeral CE?

  • All licensees must complete a board approved continuing education course in ethics and blood-borne pathogens/universal precautions.
  • Cremationist must complete training in cremation every 4 years. There is no hour requirement for cremation training, and the training does count towards their continuing education.

When does Alabama Funeral CE have to be completed?

9/30 every even year

Can Funeral CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

Can Funeral CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

A maximum of 4 hours may be carried over to the next renewal period.

What is the Alabama Funeral license renewal process?

Licensees will receive a renewal notice via email or mail from the state on or before August 1st.

Renew online

What are the WebCE Alabama Funeral CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are online approved self-study courses with non-monitored open-book final exams. Students should read through course material then complete exam.
  • Passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Alabama Funeral CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase

How often does WebCE report Alabama Funeral CE course completions?

Once a week to the Alabama Board of Funeral Service.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Alabama Funeral CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the final exam is passed.

What are the Alabama Funeral CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-resident licensees who hold a current license as a funeral director or embalmer in another state may satisfy their CE requirements through reciprocity, if the out of state credits meet the minimum standard requirements for Alabama.

Are there any CE exemptions?

  • Licensees who are sixty-five (65) years or older and have held a license for 10 years before the reporting period are exempt from CE requirements.
  • New licensees are exempt during their first licensing period.

Who to contact for additional questions

Alabama Board of Funeral Service

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 6/10/2022