Online Continuing Education Courses

Alabama Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Alabama Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 200716


What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for Alabama?

Producers, Adjusters & Title Agents

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours

Service Representatives

12 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 2 CE hours

Are there any course approval restrictions for Alabama Insurance CE?

Producers and Service Representatives may take any course approved for CE credit in Alabama. Adjusters and Title agents may take any course approved for P&C credit in Alabama.

When does Alabama Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the licensee's birth month, every 2 years, based on odd/even birth year.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for Alabama?

Annuity Best Interest Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Effective January 1, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards.
  • Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/1/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course.
  • Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities.
*Students may take the courses prior to the effective date but should check with their carrier to ensure they will accept the best interest course prior to the effective date. Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Alabama law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for Alabama?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24-months thereafter.

Residents and non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state with laws similar to Alabama's law will be compliant with the requirement.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for Alabama?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess CE hours are not allowed to be carried forward to the next 2-year license term.

What is the Alabama Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic renewals will be available 90 days prior to the expiration date and within a grace period of 30 days after the last day of their birth month.
  2. To complete license renewal, Continuing Education requirements must be met prior to submission of a renewal application.
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE Alabama Continuing Education course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students should read through the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
  • Self-study exams are closed-book and require a monitor.
  • Monitor requirements: A disinterested third party minimum age of 18 years who has no family or financial relationship.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Alabama Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report Alabama Insurance CE course completions?

Twice every business day to State Based Systems (SBS).

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Alabama Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees should maintain the original certificate of completion in his or her files.

What are the Alabama Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Producers
Non-resident licensees who meet CE requirements in their home state are not required to meet Alabama CE requirements.

Adjusters
Any non-resident adjuster who has met the continuing education requirements in his or her designated home state and whose home state gives credit to residents of Alabama on the same basis. Non-resident adjusters from NY, CA and HI must still complete Alabama's continuing education as those states require Alabama adjusters to complete their CE.

Are there any CE exemptions?

The following are exempt from Alabama CE requirements:
  • Individuals licensed for less than 12 months at the time of their first renewal.
  • Any producer whose license is limited to acting only as a producer for credit insurance, rental vehicle insurance, crop, portable electronic, travel, motor club, dental services, and legal services, or any combination thereof.
  • Producers licensed in Alabama for 15 years and who are at least 60 years of age. Note: Only those who were qualified for this exemption before the date of January 1, 2013, may continue the exemption and will be grandfathered in.
  • Any person licensed only for limited lines insurance, industrial fire, commonly known as debit fire, insurance, or any combination thereof prior to January 1, 2013.
  • Any person who holds a designation as a Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriter, Certified Insurance Counselor, Chartered Life Underwriter, Chartered Financial Consultant, Certified Financial Planner certificant, Registered Health Underwriter, Registered Employee Benefits Consultant, Certified Health Consultant, or Associate Risk Manager prior to January 1, 2013.
  • Officers of insurers who are not engaged in the active sale of products prior to January 1, 2013.
  • Persons who are active members of the Alabama legislature during any portion of the biennial reporting period prior to January 1, 2013.

Does Alabama require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

Alabama Department of Insurance

State Based Systems (SBS)

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 10/21/2022