Online Continuing Education Courses

Illinois Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Illinois Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Provider Number: 103146


What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for Illinois?

Producers & Public Adjusters

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours
    Must be completed in a classroom or live webinar.

Are there any subject area requirements for Illinois Insurance CE?

  • Viatical and Life Settlements: 4 CE hours every 24 months for life agents who also hold a viatical settlement broker license and sell viatical life settlement policies

Are there any course approval restrictions for Illinois Insurance CE?

  • Licensees may take courses in any line of authority.
  • Crop producers may take courses approved for Property/Casualty credit.

When does Illinois Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the licensee's birth month, every 2 years. Licensees must be CE compliant at least 10 business days prior to renewal date.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for Illinois?

Annuity Training
Hours:
4
Frequency: Producers must complete a one-time 4-hour Annuity Suitability Certification Training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Illinois.

Residents and non-residents who have completed this training in another state with laws similar to Illinois' law will be compliant with the requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for Illinois?

Initial Training
Hours:
8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products. All courses now certified for this training have the course number of 46330.

Ongoing Training
Hours:
4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every license period, following the initial training requirement.
*Note: If a producer fails to complete the 4-hour Ongoing training course prior to the license renewal, the producer will have 12 months from that license renewal date to complete the 4-hour ongoing training, without having to repeat the Initial 8-hour training course.

Residents and non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state with laws similar to Illinois' law will be compliant with the requirement.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for Illinois?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours:
3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

A maximum of 12 hours may be carried over into the next renewal period. Excess Ethics credits will not fulfill the Ethics requirement for future periods.

What is the Illinois Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic Renewals will be available up to 90 days prior to a licensee's expiration date.
  2. Agents must have their CE credit hours posted at least 10 business days prior to the expiration date, and prior to applying to renew their insurance license(s).
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE Illinois Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students should read through every chapter of the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
  • Self-study exams are open-book and do not require a monitor.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Illinois Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report Illinois Insurance CE course completions?

Twice every business day to State Based Systems (SBS).

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Illinois Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees must keep the original certificate of completion in his or her files for 5 years.

What are the Illinois Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

  • Non-resident licensees who meet CE requirements in their home state are not required to meet Illinois CE requirements.
  • All life agents who also hold a Viatical Settlement Broker license and sell viatical life settlement policies must complete a one-time 4 hour CE course in viatical settlements. *Non-residents who have completed a course of at least 4 hours in their resident state will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Are there any CE exemptions?

The following individuals are exempt from CE requirements:
  • Those holding a temporary license.
  • Those holding any of the following limited licenses: baggage, limited travel health, or trip cancellation sold in connection with transportation by a common carrier; industrial life; industrial health; and insurance issued by a local mutual district, county, or township insurance company.

Does Illinois require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

Illinois Department of Insurance

State-Based Systems

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 3/24/2022