Online Continuing Education Courses

Iowa Funeral Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Iowa Funeral Continuing Education Requirements


What are the Funeral Continuing Education requirements for Iowa?

24 hours total

Are there any subject area requirements for Iowa Funeral CE?

IA Law & Rules: 2 CE hours

When does Iowa Funeral CE have to be completed?

The 15th day of licensee’s birth month every 2 years

Can Funeral CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

Are there any Funeral CE credit type limits?

  • In-person Instruction: Minimum of 12 CE hours
  • Self-Study: Maximum 12 CE hours

Can Funeral CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess CE credit hours earned in one license term may not be carried forward to the next license term.

What is the Iowa Funeral license renewal process?

Licensees can renew license up to 60 days before current license expires. Renewal notifications will be emailed to email address on file with the board at 60, 50, 40 and 30 days prior to the license expiration date. Funeral professionals are required to report course credit hours earned to Iowa as part of the license renewal process.

Renew online

What are the WebCE Iowa Funeral CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are online approved self-study courses with non-monitored open-book final exams. Students should read through course material then complete exam.
  • Passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Iowa Funeral CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase

How often does WebCE report Iowa Funeral CE course completions?

WebCE does not report course completions to the Iowa Board of Mortuary Science.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Iowa Funeral CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the final exam is passed. Licensees should maintain certificates for 2 years after the biennium has ended for auditing purposes.

What are the Iowa Funeral CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-residents are exempt from CE, unless actively engaged in the practice of funeral directing in the State of Iowa. A non-resident licensee actively engaged in the practice of funeral directing in Iowa must meet the same CE requirements as residents.

Are there any CE exemptions?

  • First time renewal
  • Active military duty
  • Government employees working in licensee’s specialty assigned to duty outside the U.S.
  • Licensees engaged in active practice but absent from the state of Iowa

Who to contact for additional questions

Iowa Department of Public Health

Bureau of Professional Licensure
  • Phone: 515-281-4287
  • Fax: 515-281-3121
  • Website: Iowa Department of Public Health
  • Mail: Lucas State Office Bldg., 5th Floor, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319
This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 1/7/2022