Online Continuing Education Courses

Louisiana Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Louisiana Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Provider Number: 9550-C


What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for Louisiana?

Life & Health Producers & Adjusters

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours

Property & Casualty Producers & Combined License Producers

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours
  • Flood: 3 CE hours

Combined License Producers & Adjusters

48 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 6 CE hours
  • Flood: 3 CE hours

Are there any course approval restrictions for Louisiana Insurance CE?

Licensees must take courses in license type held. If multi-licensed, any course is allowed.

When does Louisiana Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the producer's birth month, every 2 years. Licensees with even- numbered licenses will renew in even years. Licensees with odd-numbered licenses will renew in odd years.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

You cannot repeat the same course within 2 years from the original course completion date.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for Louisiana?

Annuity Training
Hours:
4
Frequency: Producers must complete a one-time 4-hour Annuity Suitability Certification Training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Louisiana.

Residents and non-residents who have completed this training in another state with laws similar to Louisiana's law will be compliant with the requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for Louisiana?

Initial Training
Hours:
8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC/LTCP products.

Ongoing Training
Hours:
4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every license period, following the initial training requirement.

Residents and non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state with laws similar to Louisiana's law will be compliant with the requirement.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for Louisiana?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours:
3
Frequency: Property/Casualty and Personal lines producers must complete a 3-hour course on NFIP Flood Insurance Certification Training as part of each 2 year licensing period.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

  • Producers: A maximum of 10 hours may be carried over to the next renewal period. Courses carried forward will count as a duplicate if completed again in the current renewal cycle.
  • Adjusters: Excess CE hours are not allowed to be carried forward to the next 2-year license term.

What is the Louisiana Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic renewals will be available 90 days prior to the expiration date
  2. Licensees will not be able to access online renewal until all continuing education hours are completed and on record with the Department.
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE Louisiana Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students must read the course material and answer each set of end-of-chapter quizzes prior to taking a final exam.
    IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Louisiana Department of Insurance requires all online continuing education courses not allow access to the final exam until the student's time in the course equals the number of approved credit hours for the course. The course must be stopped if the student has been inactive for more than 10 minutes.
  • Self-study exams are open-book and do not require a monitor.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Louisiana Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report Louisiana Insurance CE course completions?

Twice every business day to the Louisiana Department of Insurance.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Louisiana Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees must retain original certificate of completions in their files for the most recent 2-year renewal period.

What are the Louisiana Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Producers
Non-resident licensees who meet CE requirements in their home state are not required to meet Louisiana CE requirements.

Adjusters
Non-resident adjusters must meet the CE requirement of their home state or of another state where they are licensed. If the adjuster is not meeting any other state's requirement or if the adjuster qualified for a Louisiana license by taking the Louisiana license exam, then the adjuster must comply with the Louisiana CE requirement.

Are there any CE exemptions?

The following individuals are exempt from CE requirements:
  • Newly licensed agents who have completed an approved pre-licensing education course (exempt for the first reporting period).
  • Individuals with a limited line license for which an exam is not required.
  • Individuals licensed for industrial fire insurance only.
  • Individuals holding a limited license for one of the following lines: fidelity and surety, baggage, credit property, service or burial, travel health and accident, and industrial life, health and accident.
  • A licensee who is 65 years of age on or before January 1, 2012 (producers who reach age 65 after January 1, 2012, will not qualify for the exemption), and who has had at least 15 years' experience as a licensed agent, broker, or solicitor and is either no longer active as an agent, broker, or solicitor and is receiving Social Security benefits or is an active agent who represents or operates through a licensed Louisiana insurer.
  • A licensed producer or adjuster, who is prevented from meeting the CE requirements for renewal due to military service, or due to a medical condition or injury, may request a waiver of those requirements and renewal of the license. The licensee must contact the state to submit this request.
  • Members of the legislature while serving a term in the legislature.

Does Louisiana require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

Louisiana Department of Insurance

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 6/24/2022