Online Continuing Education Courses

Michigan Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Michigan Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 0484


What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for Michigan?

Producers

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours

Are there any course approval restrictions for Michigan Insurance CE?

Licensees may take courses in any line of authority.

When does Michigan Insurance CE have to be completed?

The first day of the licensee's birth month, every 2 years, based on odd/even birth year.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for Michigan?

Annuity Best Interest Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Michigan law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for Michigan?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating LTC products.


Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-months license period, following the initial training requirement.

Residents and non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Michigan's law will be deemed compliant for Michigan's requirement.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for Michigan?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood products.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

A maximum of 12 hours can be carried forward to the next review period as general credit. Excess ethics will be carried over as general credit. Courses carried forward will count as a duplicate if completed again in the current renewal cycle.

What is the Michigan Insurance license renewal process?

Resident individual producer licenses are perpetual as long as the licensee is compliant with Continuing Education credit requirements.

What are the WebCE Michigan Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students should read through the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
  • Self-study exams are closed-book and require a monitor.
  • Monitor requirements: A disinterested third party minimum age of 18 years who is not a friend and who has no family or financial relationship.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Michigan Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report Michigan Insurance CE course completions?

Twice every business day to the Michigan DIFS

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Michigan Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees must keep copies of each certificate of completion in his or her files for 5 years after course completion.

What are the Michigan Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-resident licensees who meet CE requirements in their home state are not required to meet Michigan CE requirements.

Are there any CE exemptions?

The following individuals are exempt from CE requirements:
  • Adjusters, unless they are also licensed in a major line of authority
  • Individuals licensed only for one or more of the following lines: Credit Products, Limited Life, Turkey, Crop & Hail, Travel, Accident and Baggage, or Title
  • Individuals who apply for and receive a hardship waiver for military duty or terminal illness or self or immediate family member who requires an ordinate amount of care by licensee

Does Michigan require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 8/4/2022