Online Continuing Education Courses

Minnesota Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Minnesota Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Provider Number: 21015056


What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for Minnesota?

Producers & Adjusters

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours

Are there any course approval restrictions for Minnesota Insurance CE?

  • Licensees may take courses in any line of authority.
  • Insurance company sponsored classes: Maximum 12 CE hours
  • When does Minnesota Insurance CE have to be completed?

    The last day of the licensee's birth month, every 2 years.

    Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

    Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

    What are the Annuity Training requirements for Minnesota?

    Annuity Best Interest Training
    Hours: 4
    Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

    Effective January 1st, 2023, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards.
    • Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 12/31/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 7/1/2023 to be able to take the 1-hour course.
    • Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities.
    Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Minnesota law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

    Annuity Training Information

    What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for Minnesota?

    Initial Training
    Hours:
    8
    Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

    Ongoing Training
    Hours:
    4
    Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-months, following the initial training requirement.

    Residents and non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state with laws similar to Minnesota's law will be compliant with the requirement.

    LTC Training Information

    What are the Flood Training requirements for Minnesota?

    One-time Training
    Hours:
    3
    Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood products.

    Flood Training Information

    Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

    Excess CE credit hours may not be carried over to the next 2-year license term.

    What is the Minnesota Insurance license renewal process?

    1. Producers must renew their license no more than 60 days before their expiration date.
    2. Producers must have their CE credit hours posted prior to their expiration date and prior to applying to renew their insurance license(s).
    3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
    Renew online

    What are the WebCE Minnesota Insurance CE course requirements?

    • WebCE courses are classified as interactive online courses.
    • Students should read through the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
      IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Minnesota Department of Commerce requires all online continuing education courses not to allow access to the final exam until the student’s time in the course equals the number of approved credit hours for the course. The course must be stopped if the student has been inactive for more than 10 minutes and a student may not spend more than 8 hours on continuing education in one day.
    • Self-study exams are closed-book and do not require a monitor.
    • Final exam passing score: 70%
    • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

    What is the access period for WebCE Minnesota Insurance CE courses?

    12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

    How often does WebCE report Minnesota Insurance CE course completions?

    Immediately upon course completion to Sircon.
    • Please note: If courses need to be re-reported to correct a transcript, all involved parties will be required to sign an affidavit that must be submitted to the Minnesota Department of Commerce along with the change request.

    Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Minnesota Insurance CE courses?

    Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees are required to maintain the original certificate of completion in his or her files for a minimum of 4 years.

    What are the Minnesota Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

    • Non-resident licensees who meet CE requirements in their home state are not required to meet Minnesota CE requirements.
    • For non-residents who have completed the initial 8-hour LTC Partnership course in another state, they must take a 2-hour LTC training course, specific to Minnesota.

    Are there any CE exemptions?

    The following individuals are exempt from CE requirements:
    • Individuals licensed less than 6 months prior to the first renewal date are exempt for the first renewal period
    • Individuals holding a limited-lines license that does not require an exam

    Does Minnesota require any workplace compliance training?

    Who to contact for additional questions

    Minnesota Department of Commerce

    Sircon

    WebCE® provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither WebCE nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.
    Last updated on 7/11/2022