Online Continuing Education Courses

New Jersey CPA CPE Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your CPE Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

New Jersey CPA CPE Requirements

NASBA CPE Sponsor ID: 109414

New Jersey's Acceptance: New Jersey accepts courses from providers that are members of NASBA's National Registry of CPE Sponsors.

What are the CPA CPE requirements for New Jersey?

  • Total CPE Requirement: 120 hours
  • Annual CPE Requirement: 20 hours

Are there any subject area requirements for New Jersey CPA CPE?

  • CPA Ethics: 4 hours in New Jersey law and ethics approved by the Board
  • Technical Subjects: Minimum of 60 CPE hours.
  • Auditing, Review and Compilation: Minimum of 24 CPE hours if engaged in the practice of public accountancy or involved in the attest function

When does New Jersey CPA CPE have to be completed?

1/1 to 12/31 triennially (2022, 2025, 2028, etc.)

Can CPA CPE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be taken for credit more than once in a 3-year license term.

Are there any CPA CPE credit type limits?

  • Instruction: Maximum 60 hours
  • Published Materials: Maximum 30 hours
  • Other Organizations' Programs: Maximum 60 hours for technical review or peer review program committee participation

Can CPA CPE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess hours earned in a CPE cycle may not be carried forward to a subsequent CPE cycle.

What is the New Jersey CPA license renewal process?

The New Jersey State Board of Accountancy will mail the instructions for renewing the CPA license via its secure MyLicense website. The instructions will provide the CPA the MyLicense code, which is required to renew online. If a CPA has not received these instructions by November 21, they should contact the Division of Consumer Affairs at 1-888-656-6225 (within New Jersey) or 1-973-424-8150 (outside New Jersey). CPAs can report their CPE course completions with their registration renewal.

What are the WebCE New Jersey CPA CPE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are NASBA QAS self-study with non-monitored open-book final exams. Students should read through course material then complete exam.
  • Passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE New Jersey CPA CPE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase.

How often does WebCE report New Jersey CPA CPE course completions?

WebCE does not report CPE course completions to the New Jersey State Board of Accountancy.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for New Jersey CPA CPE courses?

Online PDF Certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the final exam is passed. CPAs should maintain written evidence of completion for a period of 5 years following the completion of each reporting activity.

What are the New Jersey CPA CPE requirements for non-residents?

Non-resident licensees shall demonstrate compliance with the continuing professional education renewal requirements of the state in which the licensee's principal place of business is located by signing a statement verifying the compliance on the renewal application NJ. If a non-resident licensee's principal place of business is located in a state that has no continuing professional education requirements for renewal of a license, then the non-resident licensee must comply with all NJ continuing professional education requirements.

Are there any CPE exemptions?

The board may, in its discretion, waive requirements for continuing professional education on an individual basis for hardship reasons such as health, military service, or other due cause and may establish a policy for the continuing education requirements for inactive or retired accountants who remain certified or registered.

Who to contact for additional questions

New Jersey State Board of Accountancy

NASBA Registry

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 4/8/2022