Online Continuing Education Courses

New Jersey Funeral Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

New Jersey Funeral Continuing Education Requirements



What are the Funeral Continuing Education requirements for New Jersey?

10 hours total

Are there any subject area requirements for New Jersey Funeral CE?

The following required subjects must be completed in-person:
  • Preneed Funeral Arrangements: 2 CE hours
  • Funeral Directing Ethics & NJ Law: 3 CE Hours

When does New Jersey Funeral CE have to be completed?

2/28 every odd year

Can Funeral CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

Are there any Funeral CE credit type limits?

  • Classroom Required Hours: 5 CE hours in preneed, law, and ethics
  • Self-Study: 5 CE hours

Can Funeral CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess CE credit hours earned in one license term may not be carried forward to the next license term.

What is the New Jersey Funeral license renewal process?

Licensees must submit a renewal form with the required fee to the State Board of Mortuary Science of New Jersey. Funeral professionals are required to report course credit hours earned to New Jersey as part of the license renewal process.

What are the WebCE New Jersey Funeral CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are online approved self-study courses with non-monitored open-book final exams. Students should read through course material then complete exam.
  • Passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE New Jersey Funeral CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase

How often does WebCE report New Jersey Funeral CE course completions?

WebCE does not report course completions to the New Jersey State Board of Mortuary Science.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for New Jersey Funeral CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the final exam is passed. Licensees should keep certificates of completion for a minimum of 4-years after the initial completion date.

What are the New Jersey Funeral CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-resident wanting to reinstate their license would be required to complete 10 CEUs, Including 2 hours of Pre-Need and 3 hours of Law/Ethics.

Non-residents who are not licensed would not have continuing education requirements, but would need to obtain licensure through reciprocity.

Are there any CE exemptions?

  • Individuals that are employed full-time by the Federal, State, or County of Municipal Government
  • Inactive status (not currently a practicing funeral director or embalmer)
  • First time licensees are exempt for the remainder of that biennial licensing period. For Example: If you were licensed on 3/1/2021, you are exempt from CE until 2/28/2023, and would not report CE credits until 2/28/2025.
  • Licensee serving on active military duty in excess of 200 consecutive days in a biennial period
  • Waivers may be granted for illness or disability. Please contact the New Jersey State Board of Mortuary Science for more information.

Who to contact for additional questions

New Jersey State Board of Mortuary Science

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 4/20/2022