Online Continuing Education Courses

New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 3120


What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for New Mexico?

Producers & Adjusters

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours
  • Classroom or Classroom Equivalent: 3 CE hours

Are there any course approval restrictions for New Mexico Insurance CE?

Licensees must take courses in license type held.

When does New Mexico Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the licensee's birth month, every 2 years, based on odd/even birth year.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Excess CE hours may not be carried over to the next 3-year license term.
Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for New Mexico?

Annuity Best Interest Training:
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Effective October 1st, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards.
  • Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 10/1/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 4/1/2023 to be able to take the 1-hour course.
  • Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities.
Residents and non-residents who have completed this training in another state with laws similar to New Mexico's law will be compliant with the requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for New Mexico?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-month period, following the initial training requirement.

Residents and non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state with laws similar to New Mexico's law will be compliant with the requirement.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for New Mexico?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Flood Training Information

What is the New Mexico Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic renewals will be available 90 days prior to the expiration date
  2. CE completions will be verified prior to allowing submission of a renewal application.
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE New Mexico Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study or online classroom equivalent courses.
  • Self-Study Course Presentation:
    • Students should read through the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
    • Self-study exams are open-book and do not require a monitor.
    • Self-study final exam passing score: 70%
  • Classroom Equivalent Courses:
    • Students must take and pass a series of interactive quizzes throughout the course with a minimum score of 70 percent for each interactive quiz.
    • Classroom equivalent courses do not have final exams.
  • If the final exam or interactive quizzes are not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE New Mexico Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report New Mexico Insurance CE course completions?

Twice every business day to State Based Systems (SBS).

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for New Mexico Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her files for 3 years.

What are the New Mexico Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-resident licensees who meet CE requirements in their home state are not required to meet New Mexico CE requirements.

Are there any CE exemptions?

Producers are exempt from continuing education if one of the following is true:
  • Any licensee, that has been continuously licensed and in good standing for 25 years or more without a lapse of more than 90 days, is eligible to apply for a Grandfather Exemption.
  • Individuals holding a limited license
  • Individuals who maintain a license solely for the purpose of receiving renewal fee residuals who do not otherwise transact insurance
  • Individuals who act as agents for fraternal benefit societies

Does New Mexico require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

Office of Superintendent of Insurance

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 10/21/2022