Online Continuing Education Courses

North Dakota Pre-License Insurance Exam Prep Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Insurance Exam Prep Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

North Dakota Insurance Exam Prep & Licensing Requirements

What are the Insurance Exam Prep education requirements for North Dakota?

North Dakota does not require licensing candidates to complete pre-licensing education; however, it is recommended to complete an exam prep course before attempting to take your state’s licensing exam.

How to get an insurance license in North Dakota

  1. Meet the general eligibility criteria
    • Be at least 18 years of age
    • Be a resident of, and actually residing in, the state of North Dakota

  2. Register and pass state licensing exam
    • Make an exam reservation at www.psiexams.com or via phone by calling (855) 340-3905.
    • Bring two (2) forms of current signature identification.
    Before making an exam reservation applicants should thoroughly review the State of North Dakota Licensing Candidate Handbook by clicking on the Student Handbook button above.

  3. Submit fingerprints
    • North Dakota requires all resident insurance licensing candidates be fingerprinted prior to submitting a license application.
    • You may be fingerprinted at one of PSI test centers, during regular testing hours, on the day of your examination or through a Law Enforcement Center. If you get fingerprinted at a non-PSI site, you will be responsible for sending the appropriate payment and fingerprinting card to the state.
    • A Criminal History Record Check Request form will need to be completed and submitted with payment.
    • View the fingerprinting requirements in the candidate information bulletin

  4. Apply for a License
    • After passing your licensing exam, complete the insurance license application online at www.nipr.com.

What are the WebCE North Dakota Insurance Exam Prep course requirements?

  • WebCE insurance exam prep courses follow the state exam content outlines. Students should read each lesson before proceeding to the next lesson.
  • WebCE suggests students pass the closed-book non-monitored Exam Prep Practice exam with a score of 70% or higher and then utilize Exam Tutor and Flash Tutor for further practice before your exam day.

What is the access period for WebCE North Dakota Insurance Exam Prep courses?

90 days from the date of purchase. One additional extension for an additional 90 days can be purchased for $50.

How often does WebCE report North Dakota Insurance Exam Prep course completions?

WebCE does not report exam prep course completions as the North Dakota Insurance Department does not require course completions to be reported.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for North Dakota Insurance Exam Prep courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after passing the WebCE course exam. Certificates are for personal records and is not required for the state exam.

What is the process to transfer an insurance license to North Dakota?

If you are moving to North Dakota and wish to qualify for a North Dakota license without taking an examination, you must have held the same or a similar insurance license in your previous state in the last 90 days.

Apply online

What is the process to obtain a non-resident insurance license in North Dakota?

Non-residents may apply by reciprocity and are exempt from the examination requirement if the following requirements are met:
  • Hold a resident license that is active and in good standing in your home state.
  • Comply with continuing education requirements in your home state
  • File a license application with the Department that designates the Commissioner as your true and lawful attorney for purposes of service of process.
Apply online

Are there any North Dakota insurance product specific training requirements?

Who to contact for additional questions

North Dakota Insurance Department

  • Phone: (800) 247- 0560
  • Website: www.nd.gov
  • Mail: North Dakota Insurance Department 600 E Boulevard Ave, Bismarck, ND 58505-0320

PSI Services

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's insurance department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 7/27/2022