Online Continuing Education Courses

Ohio Funeral Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Ohio Funeral Continuing Education Requirements



What are the Continuing Education education requirements for Ohio?

Funeral Directors, Embalmers, & Combined Licenses

18 hours total

Crematory Operators

2 hours total in OH Law & Rules for Crematory Operators

Are there any subject area requirements for Ohio Funeral CE?

Funeral Directors, Embalmers, & Combined Licenses

  • Ethics: 2 CE hours
  • Pre-Need: 2 CE hours
  • OH Laws & Rules: 2 CE hours

Crematory Operators

2 CE hours in OH Law and Rules

The Board allows 4 hours of credit to licensees who complete the CE requirement for their insurance license. Licensee should retain “Licensee Continuing Education Transcript” from Ohio Department of Insurance evidencing satisfactory completion of continuing education requirements for issuance or renewal of insurance license.

When does Ohio Funeral CE have to be completed?

12/31 every even year.

Can Funeral CE courses be repeated?

Courses may not be repeated within the same renewal cycle.

Are there any Funeral CE credit type limits?

  • Classroom Instruction: Minimum 6 hours
  • Self-Study: Maximum 12 hours

Can Funeral CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess CE credit hours earned in one license term may not be carried forward to the next license term.

What is the Ohio Funeral license renewal process?

The Board mails renewal notices to licensees to their mailing address on file with the Board in early November. You are not required to send in copies of your CE certificates unless we specifically ask for them. Renew online

What are the WebCE Ohio Funeral CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are online approved self-study courses with non-monitored open-book final exams. Students should read through course material then complete exam. Note: The Ohio Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors requires all online continuing education courses not allow access to the final exam until the student's time in the course equals the number of approved credit hours for the course.
  • Passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

How often does WebCE report Ohio Funeral CE course completions?

WebCE does not report course completions to the Ohio Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Ohio Funeral CE courses?

Online PDF Certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the final exam is passed. Licensees should keep all certificates a minimum of 4 years for state auditing purposes.

What are the Ohio Funeral CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-resident licensees must meet the same CE requirements as residents outlined above.

Are there any CE exemptions?

  • A newly licensed funeral director or embalmer shall be exempt during their first biennial compliance period
  • First full calendar year after which the licensee has completed their period of military service
  • A licensed individual not practicing in Ohio
  • Extreme illness or hardship (must be accompanied with physicians note)
  • Licensees licensed for 50 years or more
  • Inactive licensees (must sign a statement that licensee will not practice embalming or funeral directing)

Who to contact for additional questions

Ohio Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 2/22/2022