Current Catalog:

Filters
WebCE provides state-approved Ohio Insurance Continuing Education with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your CE requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

Ohio insurance CE course pricing:
You may select 24 hours of courses for $44.95 plus $0.75 for each additional hour. An additional $10.00 per course will be added to your total if you select paper course material.

Single OH Insurance continuing education courses start at just $9.95!
WebCE offers courses for the following OH license types:

Ohio Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 937

Required Ohio Insurance Continuing Education Hours

Producers

24-hours of insurance CE, including at least 3-hours of ethics are required by the last day of your birth month every 2 year license term.

Ohio Insurance Renewal

License Term

The license term is every 2 years, based on the last day of the producer's birth month.

Repetition and Carryover

Carryover Rules

A maximum of 12 excess CE hours may be carried over to the next 2-year license term. All carryover credits are applied as general credits and therefore agents will continue to need to meet the ethics requirement.

Repetition Rules

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

Ohio Insurance Continuing Education Course Requirements

Course Presentation

Producers can take courses through online and paper-based self-study.

Study Requirements

Self-Study Non-Interactive Requirements: Students must read the course material and answer all practice questions prior to taking the final exam.

Online Interactive: Students must read the course material and answer each set of end-of-chapter quizzes with a score of 100 percent. No final exam is required.

Category Restrictions

Life/Health and Property/Casualty producers can complete 21 CE hours in any line of authority and 3 hours in approved ethics.

Ohio Insurance Continuing Education Exam Requirements

Exam Rules

The final exam is closed book, and no outside information may be used to complete the exam. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Monitor Requirements

Exam Proctor Requirements: Closed-book exam must be monitored by a disinterested 3rd party. Proctors shall NOT serve for examinations of: family members or relatives or dependents, employers or supervisors, employees or subordinates, partners or joint ventures or co-owners, or for anyone in whom the proctor or instructor has an economic or other interest in assuring the successful outcome of the examination.

Passing Score

Self-Study Non-Interactive Final Exam: 70%
Interactive Online Quizzes: 100%

Reporting and Ohio Insurance Continuing Education Certificates of Completion

Certificates of Completion

WebCE provides online, printable certificates of completion in Ohio. Certificates of completion are available to print online immediately after the final exam is passed. The licensee must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her files for 3 years.

Reporting

Instant Reporting: Insurance CE credits are immediately reported to the Ohio Department of Insurance upon course completion.
*Agents must have their CE credit hours posted prior to their expiration date and prior to applying to renew their insurance license(s). Providers have 15 days to report your CE completions, so please plan accordingly to avoid a lapse in licensure.

Ohio Insurance Product Training Requirements

Annuity Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell annuity products.

Initial Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Additional Information

Long-Term Care Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell long-term care products.

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-month period, following the initial training requirement.

Additional Information

NFIP Flood Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell flood insurance products.

One-Time Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Additional Information

Non-Resident Ohio Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Annuity State-Specific Insurance Product Training

Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in Ohio, producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. *Non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Ohio's law will be deemed compliant for Ohio's requirement.

Long-Term Care State-Specific Insurance Product Training

Non-resident insurance producers selling, soliciting, or negotiating LTC products in Ohio, who satisfy the training requirements in any other state shall be deemed to satisfy the training requirements in this state.

Exemptions from Ohio Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance CE Exemptions

The following licensees are exempt from continuing education requirements:
  • Persons holding a limited authority license.
  • Non-resident licensees in compliance with CE requirements for their home states.
  • Non-resident licensees who completed a NAIC LTC training course in another state are exempt from taking the special training requirement in Ohio.
  • Persons granted inactive license status by the State Director of Insurance.

Ohio Insurance Contact Info

Ohio Department of Insurance


WebCE® provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither WebCE nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.
Last updated on 8/2/2017