Online Continuing Education Courses

Rhode Island Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Rhode Island Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 631


What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for Rhode Island?

Producers

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours

Are there any course approval restrictions for Rhode Island Insurance CE?

Licensees must take courses in license type held.

When does Rhode Island Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the producer’s birth month, every 2 years.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for Rhode Island?

Annuity Best Interest Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Rhode Island law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for Rhode Island?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-month period, following the initial training requirement.

Residents and non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state with laws similar to Rhode Island's law will be compliant with the requirement.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for Rhode Island?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

A maximum of 24 hours may be carried over to the next renewal period. Excess ethics hours will be carried over as general hours.

What is the Rhode Island Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic renewals will be available 90 days prior to the expiration date.
  2. Continuing Education requirements must be met prior to submission of a renewal application.
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE Rhode Island Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students must read the course material and answer each set of end-of-chapter quizzes with a score of 70 percent before attempting a final exam.
  • Self-study exams are open-book and do not require a monitor.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Rhode Island Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report Rhode Island Insurance CE course completions?

Twice every business day to State Based Systems (SBS).

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Rhode Island Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees are required to maintain a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her files.

What are the Rhode Island Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-resident licensees who meet CE requirements in their home state are not required to meet Rhode Island CE requirements.

Are there any CE exemptions?

The following are exempt from Rhode Island CE requirements:
  • Residents holding licenses for which a licensing examination is not required.
  • Limited line credit insurance licensees
  • Adjusters and appraisers
  • Individuals who are at least 55 years old at the time of renewal and have been licensed continuously for 25 years without lapse.
  • Individuals who are at least 60 years old by July 3, 2004 and have been licensed continuously for at least 20 years without lapse at the time of renewal.

Does Rhode Island require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 5/27/2022