Current Catalog:

Filters
WebCE provides state-approved Tennessee CPA CPE with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your CPE requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

Tennessee cpa CPE course pricing:
You may select 80 hours of courses for $99.95 plus $2.50 for each additional hour. An additional $0.00 per course will be added to your total if you select paper course material.

Single TN CPA cpe courses start at just $19.95!
WebCE offers courses for the following TN license types:

Tennessee CPA CPE Requirements

NASBA CPE Sponsor ID: 109414

Tennessee's Acceptance: Tennessee accepts courses from providers that are members of NASBA's National Registry of CPE Sponsors.

Required Tennessee CPA CPE Hours

Required CPE Hours for Tennessee CPAs

80 hours of CPA CPE are required every 2 years license term, with a minimum of 20 CPE hours annually.

Failure to comply with annual 20 CPE hour requirement will result in an additional 8 hours of CPE penalty.

Tennessee CPA CPE Subject Area Requirements

CPA Ethics: 2 hours of ethics CPE every 2-year license period
Accounting & Auditing: Minimum 20 CPE hours if performing attest services (including compilations)
Expert Witness: Minimum 20 CPE hours must be in the general area in which the court deems you an expert, such as tax, auditing, etc. if providing expert witness testimony

Tennessee CPA Renewal

CPE Reporting Due Date

1/1 to 12/31 biennially, ending on even-numbered years for even license numbers and odd-numbered years for odd license numbers

CPA License Renewal Date

CPAs with an even license number - 12/31 of even years. CPAs with odd-numbered licenses - 12/31 of odd years.

CPA License Renewal Process

License renewal reminder postcards are mailed in late October to the mailing address of record (with the state) for all CPAs/PAs whose licenses will expire the following December 31st.

Repetition and Carryover

Carryover Allowance

Carryover is limited to 24 hours of CPE per reporting period. Carryover hours do not contribute to the minimum 20 hour annual requirement nor the 40 technical hour requirement.

Repetition Rule

Courses cannot be taken for credit more than once in a 2-year reporting term.

Tennessee CPA CPE Course Requirements

CPE Credit Type Limitations

  • Instruction: Maximum 40 hours
  • Published Materials: Maximum 40 hours
  • Professional Journals: Maximum 16 hours for the magazine reading program such as reading TSCPA journals and returning those questions for a score

Course Presentation

WebCE courses are NASBA QAS self-study.

Study Requirements

Self-Study Requirements: Students should read the course material prior to taking the final exam.

Tennessee CPA CPE Exam Requirements

Exam Rules

The final exam is open-book. Students may refer to the course material as often as needed. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Passing Score

Self-Study Final Exam: 70%

Reporting and Tennessee CPA CPE Certificates of Completion

CPA CPE Reporting

WebCE does NOT report CPE course completions to the Tennessee State Board of Accountancy. CPAs can report their CPE course completions with their registration renewal.

Certificates of Completion

WebCE provides online printable certificates of completion. Certificates of completion will be available to print online immediately after the final exam is passed. You should maintain written evidence of completion for a period of 5 years following the completion of each reporting activity.

Tennessee CPA Contact Info

Tennessee State Board of Accountancy

  • Phone: 615-741-2550
  • Mailing Address: 500 James Robertson Parkway Davy Crockett Tower Nashville, TN 37243-1141
  • Fax Number: 615-532-8800

WebCE® provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing professional education (CPE) as CPAs, PAs, and Licensed accountants. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither WebCE nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. Since regulations are constantly changing, we suggest you check with your state’s board to answer any questions or confirm any information.
Last updated on 5/11/2017