Online Continuing Education Courses

Virginia Funeral Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Virginia Funeral Continuing Education Requirements

Funeral Continuing Education Provider Number: 520000034



What are the Funeral Continuing Education requirements for Virginia?

Funeral Directors & Embalmers

5 hours total

Are there any subject area requirements for Virginia Funeral CE?

Law & Regulations: 1 CE hour
Funeral Pre-need Arrangements: 1 CE hour

When does Virginia Funeral CE have to be completed?

3/31 annually

Can Funeral CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 1 year license term.

Can Funeral CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess CE credit hours earned in one CE compliance term may not be carried forward to the next CE compliance term.

What is the Virginia Funeral license renewal process?

Prior to the expiration of a license, the Board will provide to licensees a renewal notice and application to be submitted to the Board together with the required fee. Licensees are NOT required to send in evidence of continuing education hours at the time of renewal. The Board will randomly select licensees for a post renewal audit. If selected, licensees will be notified by mail to send in required documentation.

Renew online

What are the WebCE Virginia Funeral CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are online approved self-study courses with non-monitored open-book final exams. Students should read through course material then complete exam.
  • Passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Virginia Funeral CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase

How often does WebCE report Virginia Funeral CE course completions?

WebCE does not report course completions to the Virginia Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Virginia Funeral CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the final exam is passed. Licensees should keep all certificates a minimum of 2 years for state auditing purposes.

What are the Virginia Funeral CE requirements for non-residents?

Anyone who holds an active Funeral Service Provider license for the State of Virginia must meet all CE requirements even if they do not live in Virginia.

Are there any CE exemptions?

  • The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 1 year for the completion of CE requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing education requirement.
  • The board may grant exemptions or waivers in cases of illness or undue hardship. Please contact the Board for more information.
  • Licensees in an inactive status are exempt from continuing education requirements.Licensees who wish to return to active practice in Virginia must meet the continuing education requirements before the next license renewal period, before resuming any funeral directing and/or embalming activities.
  • A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements for the first renewal following the date of initial licensure by examination in Virginia.

Who to contact for additional questions

Virginia Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 7/22/2022