Online Continuing Education Courses

Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 124999


What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for Virginia?

Single Line Producers

16 CE hours total including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours (may include Virginia laws and regulations)

Multi-Line Producers

24 CE hours total including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours (may include Virginia laws and regulations)

Public Adjusters

24 CE hours total including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours (may include Virginia laws and regulations)

Are there any course approval restrictions for Virginia Insurance CE?

Licensees must take courses in the line for which they hold a license. For dual-licensed agents- A minimum of 8 CE hours must be completed in each license type held and a minimum of 3 CE hours must be in a course approved for ethics.
  • No more than 75 percent of CE hours may come from company-sponsored courses. None of WebCE’s courses are company-sponsored.
  • Excess earned Ethics credits may be applied to cover other CE requirements in the current biennium.
  • Insurance Law and Regulations (ILR) credits will count toward Ethics credits.
  • CE credits awarded for Other General Insurance (OGI) topics will be used to meet any license-specific requirement but not the Ethics requirement.
  • Flood courses will count toward the P&C license specific requirement.
  • Public Adjusters must complete a minimum of 3 hours in ethics and the remaining 21 hours may be any combination of Property and Casualty courses, Mitigation courses, Flood courses, and Public Adjuster courses.
  • Public Adjusters cannot take courses approved under the Other General Insurance (OGI) or Insurance Law and Regulations (ILR) course categories.

When does Virginia Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the licensee's birth month, every 2 years, based on odd/even birth year.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for Virginia?

Annuity Best Interest Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Virginia law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for Virginia?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTCP products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24 months, following the initial training requirement.

Important Note: Failure to complete the Ongoing 4-hour training course within 24 months of completion of the Initial 8-hour training course, will forfeit recognition of the initial 8-hour training course by the Virginia Department of Insurance, and will result in the Initial 8-hour training course having to be repeated.

Non-resident producers who have already taken the initial 8-hour, NAIC LTC course in a state other than Virginia, they must complete 2 hours of Virginia LTC Partnerships.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for Virginia?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess credit hours may be carried over to the next compliance period, but hours must be reported, and a continuance fee must be paid, in compliance period in which course was taken.
Excess earned Ethics credits may be applied to cover other CE requirements in the current compliance period, and any remaining credits will be carried over to the next compliance period and applied to either the Ethics requirement or other CE requirements.

What is the Virginia Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic renewals will be available 90 days prior to the expiration date.
  2. Continuing Education requirements must be met prior to submission of a renewal application.
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE Virginia Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students should read through the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
  • Self-study exams are closed-book and do not require a monitor.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Virginia Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report Virginia Insurance CE course completions?

Immediately upon course completion to Sircon.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Virginia Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees are required to maintain the certificate of completion in his or her files.

What are the Virginia Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Nonresidents who have completed their CE requirement in their home state will be deemed compliant for Virginia’s continuing education requirement. Nonresident agents must pay the $20 Continuance fee each biennium. If a non-resident producer has already taken the initial 8-hour, NAIC LTC course in a state other than Virginia, they must complete 2 hours of Virginia LTC Partnerships.

Are there any CE exemptions?

The following are exempt from CE requirements:
  • Individuals who hold a limited line license, such as credit life/health, travel accident, and travel baggage insurance producers.
  • The Board finds good cause to grant the waiver request. “Good cause” includes, but is not limited to, long-term illness or incapacity, active military duty, and other situations as may be determined by the Board as preventing the agent from satisfying the CE requirements. Requests for waivers must be submitted using the Waiver Request form.

Does Virginia require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

Virginia Bureau of Insurance

Sircon

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 5/16/2022