Online Continuing Education Courses

West Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

West Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 12712


What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for West Virginia?

Producers & Adjusters

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours

Are there any course approval restrictions for West Virginia Insurance CE?

Licensees may take courses in any line of authority. Adjusters may take courses approved for Property/Casualty credit.

When does West Virginia Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the licensee birth month every 2 years.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for West Virginia?

Annuity Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Producers must complete a one-time 4-hour Annuity Suitability Training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in West Virginia.

Residents and non-residents who have completed this training in another state with laws similar to West Virginia law will be compliant with the requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for West Virginia?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every license period following the completion of the initial training.

Residents and non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state with laws similar to Alaska's law will be compliant with the requirement.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for West Virginia?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Up to 6 hours of CE may be carried over to the next biennium. Excess Ethics credits carry over as general credits, not Ethics.

What is the West Virginia Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic renewals will be available 90 days prior to the expiration date.
  2. Continuing Education requirements must be met prior to submission of a renewal application.
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE West Virginia Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students should read through the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
  • Self-study exams are closed-book and require a monitor.
  • Monitor requirements: A disinterested third party minimum age of 18 years who has no family or financial relationship.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE West Virginia Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report West Virginia Insurance CE course completions?

Immediately upon course completion to Sircon.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for West Virginia Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees must keep a copy of each certificate of completion for 4 years.

What are the West Virginia Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-resident Producers: If you have satisfied the continuing education requirements of your home state, you do not need to comply with West Virginia’s CE requirement.
Non-resident Adjusters: who designates West Virginia as their home state must complete West Virginia's continuing education requirements.

Are there any CE exemptions?

The following individuals are exempt from CE requirements:
  • Individuals licensed only for limited lines credit.
  • Individuals holding limited lines licenses for which an exam is not required.
  • Individuals holding any limited or restricted license that the commissioner may declare exempt.
  • Individuals who attends a professional designation class or takes a self-study course and passes the national exam will receive 24 CE credit hours
  • Producers who sell only pre-need burial insurance contracts or who engage solely in telemarketing insurance products using a scripted presentation that has been filed with and approved by the insurance commissioner must complete 6 hrs biennially with 3 hrs in ethics (Eligible agents must file an affidavit to request the reduction in hrs)

Does West Virginia require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner

Sircon

Prometric

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 5/23/2022