Online Continuing Education Courses

Wisconsin Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Wisconsin Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 21089


What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for Wisconsin?

Producers

24 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours

Public Adjusters

15 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 3 CE hours

Are there any subject area requirements for Wisconsin Insurance CE?

Life Settlement Brokers

Individuals applying for a Life Settlement Broker license must complete 8 hours of initial training in Life Settlements, then they must complete 2 hours of ongoing training every year for a total of 4 hours every 24 months.

Are there any course approval restrictions for Wisconsin Insurance CE?

Licensees may take courses in any line of authority.

When does Wisconsin Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the licensee's birth month every 2 years.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for Wisconsin?

Annuity Best Interest Training:
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Effective October 1st, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards.
  • Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 10/1/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 4/1/2023 to be able to take the 1-hour course.
  • Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities.
Residents and non-residents who have completed this training in another state with laws similar to Wisconsin's law will be compliant with the requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for Wisconsin?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.
Non-residents who have completed the initial LTC Partnership Training course in another state must take a 2-hour Medicaid Training course specific to Wisconsin.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training.

Non-residents who complete the ongoing training in another state must still complete a 1-hour Wisconsin Medicaid Training course.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for Wisconsin?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess CE hours may not be carried forward to the next 2-year license term.

What is the Wisconsin Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Renewal notices are mailed by the Wisconsin Department of Insurance 60 days prior to fees being due.
  2. Continuing Education requirements must be met prior to submission of a renewal application. Licensees who fail to have the required CE credit hours posted on or before the license expiration date will have their insurance license(s) revoked. Providers have 10 days to report CE completions, so please plan accordingly to avoid a lapse in licensure.
  3. To continue conducting insurance business in the state of Wisconsin, you must pay the biennial regulation fee.
  4. Renew online

What are the WebCE Wisconsin Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students should read through the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
  • Self-study exams are closed-book and require a monitor.
  • Monitor requirements: A disinterested third party minimum age of 18 years who has no family or financial relationship.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Wisconsin Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report Wisconsin Insurance CE course completions?

Twice every business day to State Based Systems (SBS).

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Wisconsin Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her file for 5 years.

What are the Wisconsin Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-resident agents are exempt from the Wisconsin CE requirement if they are in good standing with their state. Non-residents who complete the ongoing training in another state must still complete a 1-hour Wisconsin Medicaid Training course. Non-resident public adjuster whose home state has continuing education requirements similar to Wisconsin's requirement may submit to the commissioner proof of compliance with that state's requirements.

Are there any CE exemptions?

Licensees are exempt from CE requirements if one of the following is true:
  • Newly licensed individuals are exempt for the reporting period in which the initial license is issued if they completed the pre-license education requirement during that same reporting period (exemption does not apply to agents adding a line to an existing license)
  • Individuals who hold an exclusive limited line insurance license for credit, managing general agent or title insurance
  • Individuals licensed only for a line of insurance that is no longer offered, such as windstorm, fidelity, steamboiler, credit life, mortgage, hail, town mutual non-property and/or credit disability
  • Individuals who become seriously ill or disabled or who serve on active duty outside WI may request a waiver of the CE requirement for a specific reporting period. Approvals of waivers will be at the discretion of the insurance commissioner and must be received at least 90 days prior of the reporting period

Does Wisconsin require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance

State Based Systems (SBS)

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 6/9/2022