Online Continuing Education Courses

Arkansas CPA CPE Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education

Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your CPE Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop-down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Arkansas CPA CPE Requirements

NASBA CPE Sponsor ID: 109414

Arkansas' Acceptance: Arkansas accepts courses from providers that are members of NASBA's National Registry of CPE Sponsors and meet the requirements of Arkansas Rule 13.

What are the CPA CPE requirements for Arkansas?

40 hours from the prior year or 120 hours over the prior 3 years
Renewal applicants are required to report 40 hours for the current renewal year but allowed to “look back” to include the past 3 yrs totaling 120 hours if you are deficient in current reporting year.

Are there any subject area requirements for Arkansas CPA CPE?

CPA Ethics, required in the 3 year period: 4 CPE hours
  • 1 hour must be in Arkansas specific laws and rules
This requirement may be satisfied by completing the free WebCE course, Arkansas Board Ethics

Licensees engaged in the practice of public accounting: minimum of 40% of CPE hours must be in Accounting/Attest, Accounting Ethics, or Tax topics
Licensees not engaged in the practice of public accounting: minimum of 20% of CPE hours must be in Accounting/Attest, Accounting Ethics, or Tax topics
Accounting & Auditing: If performing attests or compilation services, a minimum of 20% of CPE hours must be in Accounting/Auditing

When does Arkansas CPA CPE have to be completed?

1/1 annually

Can CPA CPE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 1 year license term.

Are there any CPA CPE credit type limits?

  • Group Study: Minimum of 8 hours based on 40-hour rule or 24 hours based on 120-hour rule is required.
  • Independent study, self-study, and authorship credit: Maximum of 80% of CE credit
  • Published Materials: Maximum 20 hours
  • Nano Learning: Maximum 4 hours
  • Other Organizations' Programs: Maximum 6 hours for other accounting, industrial, or professional programs that are not formal, organized, educational programs

Can CPA CPE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess hours earned in a CPE cycle may not be carried forward to a subsequent CPE cycle.

What is the Arkansas CPA license renewal process?

Online renewals are accepted during November - April. Licenses not renewed before April 1 will lapse.
CPAs can self-report their CPE course completions with their registration renewal.
Online renewal

What are the WebCE Arkansas CPE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are NASBA QAS self-study with non-monitored open-book final exams. Students should read through course material then complete exam.
  • Passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Arkansas CPE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard. Due to regulatory guidelines, access to courses CANNOT BE EXTENDED past 12 months from the original date of purchase.

How often does WebCE report Arkansas CPA CPE course completions?

The first business day of every month to the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Arkansas CPE courses?

Online PDF Certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the final exam is passed. CPAs should maintain written evidence of completion for a period of 5 years following the completion of each reporting activity.

Are there any CPE exemptions?

A full or partial exemption from continuing education requirements may be allowed for the following licensees:
  1. An active duty military service member outside of the State of Arkansas
  2. A returning military veteran within one (1) year of his or her discharge from active duty
  3. The spouse of a person under (1) or (2) above
The board may also make exceptions for individual hardships, including health, or other good cause.
In order to receive a full or partial CPE exemption, a qualifying individual must submit a written request for an exemption to the Board.

Who to contact for additional questions

Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy

NASBA Registry

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 8/2/2023