WebCE provides state-approved Florida Insurance Continuing Education with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your CE requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

Florida insurance CE course pricing:
You may select 24 hours of courses for $39.95 plus $0.75 for each additional hour. An additional $0.00 per course will be added to your total if you select paper course material.

Single FL Insurance continuing education courses start at just $4.95!

Florida Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 364621

Required Florida Insurance Continuing Education Hours

Producers & Adjusters/Public Adjusters licensed LESS than 6 years

24 CE hours, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course, are required every 2 year license term.

Producers & Adjusters/Public Adjusters licensed 6 years or More

20 CE hours, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course, are required every 2 year license term.

Customer & Limited Customer Representatives

10 CE hours, including the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course, are required every 2 year license term.

Florida Insurance Renewal

License Term

The license term is every 2 years ending on the last day of the licensee's birth month after the licensee has been licensed 24 months. For example:
  • Licensed - July 11, 2012
    Birth Month - June
    Compliance start date - July 1, 2013
    Due date - June 30, 2015

  • Licensed - July 11, 2013
    Birth Month - November
    Compliance start date - December 1, 2013
    Due date - November 30, 2015

  • Licensed - July 11, 2013
    Birth Month - July
    Compliance start date - August 1, 2013
    Due date - July 31, 2015

License Renewal Process

Florida agent and adjuster licenses are perpetual, but will expire if it goes for more than 48 months without an appointment. Failure to complete continuing education requirements may result in cancellation of an appointment that could lead to termination of the license.

Florida Insurance Product Training Requirements

Long-Term Care Partnership Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell long-term care partnership products.

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 2 calendar years following the completion of the initial training.

Additional Information

NFIP Flood Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell flood insurance products.

One-Time Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Additional Information

Florida Insurance Continuing Education Course Requirements

Course Presentation

Online self-study course.

Study Requirements

Self-Study Requirements: As a self-study provider approved by the Florida Department of Financial Services (FLDFS), WebCE is required to ensure students fully complete a course for the credit hours approved to continue to be in compliance with Rule 69B-228 of Florida Administrative Code. Students must read the course material and answer each set of end-of-chapter quizzes with a score of at least 70 percent prior to taking a closed-book final exam.

Category Restrictions

Producers and adjusters may take any course approved for CE by the Florida Department of Financial Services. All WebCE courses have a course level of intermediate or advanced.

5-Hour Law and Ethics Category Restrictions

The 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course must only be completed for one of the Florida insurance licenses you hold. Customer Representatives and Limited Customer Representatives must complete the 5-hour Law and Ethics Update course for the 220 line of authority.

Public Adjuster Category Restrictions

Public adjusters may only complete courses approved for public adjusters.

Florida Insurance Continuing Education Exam Requirements

Exam Rules

The final exam is closed book, and no outside information may be used to complete the exam. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have unlimited retakes but the exam questions will be different each time.

Monitor Requirements

Exam Proctor Requirements: Exams are closed-book and do not require a monitor.

Passing Score

Self-Study Final Exam: 70%

Reporting and Florida Insurance Continuing Education Certificates of Completion

Certificates of Completion

WebCE provides online, printable certificates of completion in Florida. Certificates of completion will be available to print online immediately after a final exam is passed. The licensee must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her file for 5 years.

Reporting

Twice-a-Day Reporting: WebCE reports course completions to the Florida Department of Financial Services twice every business day.

Repetition and Carryover

Carryover Rules

Up to 24 hours of excess CE can be carried over to the next license term. 5-Hour Law and Ethics Update courses will be carried over as their respective categories. Courses carried forward will not be counted as duplicate if taken 2 calendar years after the initial completion date.

Repetition Rules

*Effective April 12, 2017: You cannot repeat the same course within 2 years from the original course completion date.

Non-Resident Florida Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Non-resident Insurance CE Requirements

  • Non-resident producers who meet their home state CE requirement are exempt from the FL CE requirement.
  • Non-resident adjusters who meet their home state CE requirement are exempt from the FL CE requirement.
  • Non-resident title agents must meet the FL CE requirement.
For a list of reciprocating states for non-resident licensing click here.

Exemptions from Florida Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance CE Exemptions

Licensees are exempt from CE requirements if one of the following is true:
  • Individuals with a limited lines license that an exam is not required.
  • Individuals with any of the following limited licenses: dental representative, motor vehicle physical damage and mechanical breakdown agent and crop hail and multiple peril crop agent.
  • Individuals who are officials or employees of a government entity and whose job description requires them to say current on insurance issues. Request for approval from the Florida Department of Financial Services is required.
  • Agents who meet the CE requirements in their home state will be exempt form the FL CE requirement. Proof of compliance must be by letter of certification or by the Department searching the producer database.
  • Adjusters who meet the CE requirements in their home state which reciprocates with FL or, if not licensed in their home state, in another nonresident state that reciprocates with FL meets the FL CE requirement. Proof of compliance must be by letter of certification or by the Department searching the producer database. For a complete list of reciprocating states click here.

Florida Insurance Contact Info

Florida Department of Financial Services


WebCE® provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither WebCE nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.