Holiday Hours

In observance of Memorial Day, WebCE Support Services hours will be:
Fri, May 24th: 7:00am-7:00pm CST | Sat, May 25th: 10:00am-3:00pm CST | Sun May 26th - Mon May 27th: Closed

We will resume our regular hours of 7:00am-7:00pm CST on Tues May 28th, Online catalogs and course delivery will be available without interruption.

Online Continuing Education Courses

Michigan CPA CPE Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education

Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your CPE Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop-down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Michigan CPA CPE Requirements

NASBA CPE Sponsor ID: 109414

Michigan's Acceptance: Michigan accepts courses from providers that are members of NASBA's National Registry of CPE Sponsors.

What are the CPA CPE requirements for Michigan?

  • Total CPE Requirement: 80 hours, over the 2 year license cycle
  • Annual CPE Requirement: 40 hours

Are there any subject area requirements for Michigan CPA CPE?

  • CPA Ethics: Minimum of 2 hours of ethics CPE are required each year.
    The content of 1 hour of the 4 hours of ethics required in a 2 year cycle must be state-specific. WebCE's ethics courses do not currently include the 1-hour state-specific content. Please contact the Michigan Association of CPAs for information on where to obtain the state-specific content.
  • Accounting & Auditing: Minimum of 8 CPE hours each year

When does Michigan CPA CPE have to be completed?

7/1 to 6/30 biennially

Can CPA CPE courses be repeated?

A licensee shall not receive credit for repeating a self-study program or course or another program that has substantially the same content during a continuing education period.

Are there any CPA CPE credit type limits?

  • Instruction: Maximum 20 hours each year
  • Self-Study and Nano-Learning: Combined maximum of 20 hours each year

Can CPA CPE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Any hours in excess of the yearly minimum hours required may be carried to the following continuing education year, up to 40 hours.

  • No more than eight (8) hours in accounting and auditing can be carried over.
  • No more than two (2) hours in ethics can be carried over.
  • No more than one (1) hour in public accountancy laws and regulations can be carried over.

What is the Michigan CPA license renewal process?

Licensees can begin to renew their licenses approximately 90 days prior to the renewal due date of their current license. Licensees will be mailed a renewal notification to their address on record. Licensees are required to renew their license(s) by using the online renewal system.

If selected for an audit, CPAs will be required to provide course information regarding continuing education.

Online renewal

What are the WebCE Michigan CPA CPE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are NASBA QAS self-study with non-monitored open-book final exams. Students should read through course material then complete exam.
  • Passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Michigan CPA CPE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase.

How often does WebCE report Michigan CPA CPE course completions?

WebCE does not report CPE course completions to the Michigan Board of Accountancy.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Michigan CPA CPE courses?

Online PDF Certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the final exam is passed. CPAs should maintain written evidence of completion for a period of 4 years following the completion of each reporting activity.

What are the Michigan CPA CPE requirements for non-residents?

Nonresident licensees are considered to have met this state’s CE requirements if the state where his or her business is located also has CE requirements for renewal of a license. A licensee must meet the CE requirements of the other state before or at the time of applying for the Michigan renewal.

Are there any CPE exemptions?

A licensee is not required to meet the CE requirements for the 12-month period beginning on the date of his or her original license.

Who to contact for additional questions

Michigan Board of Accountancy

  • Phone: 517-241-0199
  • Fax Number: 517-241-9416
  • Mailing Address: Bureau of Professional Licensing– Boards and Committees Section, P.O. Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909
  • Website: Michigan Board of Accountancy

NASBA Registry

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 9/12/2023