Online Continuing Education Courses

Mississippi CPA CPE Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education

Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your CPE Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop-down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Mississippi CPA CPE Requirements

NASBA CPE Sponsor ID: 109414

Mississippi's Acceptance: Mississippi accepts courses from providers that are members of NASBA's National Registry of CPE Sponsors.

What are the CPA CPE requirements for Mississippi?

  • Total CPE Requirement: 120 hours
  • Annual CPE Requirement: 40 hours

Are there any subject area requirements for Mississippi CPA CPE?

CPA Ethics: 4 hours of state approved ethics every 3 year license period, of which 1 hour must cover Public Accountancy Law and Regulation.

When does Mississippi CPA CPE have to be completed?

7/1 to 6/30 annually

Can CPA CPE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be taken for credit more than once in a 3-year reporting period.

Are there any CPA CPE credit type limits?

Personal Development: Maximum of 20 hours per reporting period
Published Materials: Authoring a published document may qualify for credit. Credit is based on submission of the published document, explanation of the circumstances, and a request for the number of credits. Review or editing alone will not qualify.

Credits may also be earned in areas relating to lecturing or teaching, and if a CPA is also a practicing licensed attorney, not in public accounting, CLE may count toward CPE.

Can CPA CPE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

CPAs may carry forward 20 credit hours per year to the next 12 month compliance period. Hours carried over may not count toward the ethics requirement.
No excess personal development hours in a compliance year may be carried forward to future years.

What is the Mississippi CPA license renewal process?

CPE forms for the compliance period ending June 30 are usually mailed in May. To receive a CPA license and to annually renew a CPA license, an individual must complete and report CPE credit hours on the Board prescribed reporting form by August 1, even if the number reported is zero.

Online renewal

What are the WebCE Mississippi CPA CPE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are NASBA QAS self-study with non-monitored open-book final exams. Students should read through course material then complete exam.
  • Passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Mississippi CPA CPE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase.

How often does WebCE report Mississippi CPA CPE course completions?

WebCE does not report CPE course completions to the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Mississippi CPA CPE courses?

Online PDF Certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the final exam is passed. CPAs should maintain written evidence of completion for a period of 5 years following the completion of each reporting activity.

What are the Mississippi CPA CPE requirements for non-residents?

The board may exempt a non-resident licensee from the continuing education requirements if:

  • The licensee’s primary employment is not in Mississippi but is in a State whose CPE requirements are substantially equivalent to Mississippi’s requirements as determined by the Board.
  • The individual is a licensee in that State of primary employment and reports those CPE credit hours as required, with a sworn statement to the Board that the CPE requirements for that jurisdiction have been met.
  • The licensee must comply with the Mississippi ethics CPE requirement unless their state of primary employment has an ethics CPE requirement and that requirement was met.

Are there any CPE exemptions?

The Board may in its discretion make exceptions to the CPE requirements for the following reasons:

  • Retirement Status or Permanent Disability
  • A licensee’s primary employment is not in Mississippi but is in a state whose CPE requirements are substantially equivalent to Mississippi’s requirements as determined by the Board
  • Health as certified by a medical doctor
  • Extended active military duty

In order to receive an exemption from CPE, a qualifying individual must submit a written request for an exemption to the Board.

Who to contact for additional questions

Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy

NASBA Registry

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 11/1/2023