Current Catalog:

Filters
WebCE provides state-approved New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your CE requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

New Mexico insurance CE course pricing:
You may select 24 hours of courses for $39.95 plus $0.75 for each additional hour. An additional $10.00 per course will be added to your total if you select paper course material.

Single NM Insurance continuing education courses start at just $4.95!
WebCE offers courses for the following NM license types:

New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 3120

Required New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education Hours

Producers

License Issued or Renewed Prior to July 1, 2017:
15-hours of insurance CE, including 1 hour of ethics are required by April 30, 2018.

License Issued or Renewed After to July 1, 2017:
24-hours of insurance CE, including 3 hour of ethics are required every 2-year license term.

Adjusters

*Effective July 1, 2017: 24-hours of insurance CE, including 3-hours of ethics are required every 2-year license term.

New Mexico Insurance Renewal

License Term

License Issued or Renewed Prior to July 1, 2017:
The license term ends on April 30, 2018. License term will transition to the last day of the producer's birth month every 2 years after the license is renewed.

License Issued or Renewed After to July 1, 2017:
The license term ends on the last day of the producer's birth month, every 2 years. Even birth years renew every even year. Odd birth years renew every odd year.

New Mexico Insurance Product Training Requirements

Long-Term Care Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell long-term care products.

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-month period, following the initial training requirement.

Additional Information

NFIP Flood Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell flood insurance products.

One-Time Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Additional Information

New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education Course Requirements

Course Presentation

Producers may complete the New Mexico CE requirements through self-study. The self-study course and exam can be either paper or online.

Study Requirements

Self-Study Requirements: Students should read the course material prior to taking the final exam.

Category Restrictions

Producers must complete 3 hours in approved ethics courses. All other hours may be completed by taking courses approved only for the line of authority licensed for.

New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education Exam Requirements

Exam Rules

The final exam is open-book. Students may refer to the course material as often as needed. If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

Monitor Requirements

Exam Proctor Requirements: Exams are open-book and do not require a monitor.

Passing Score

Self-Study Final Exam: 70%

Reporting and New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education Certificates of Completion

Certificates of Completion

WebCE provides online, printable certificates of completion in New Mexico. Certificates of completion will be available to print online immediately after the final exam is passed. Producers must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her files for 3 years.

Reporting

Next-Day Reporting: WebCE reports course completions electronically to State Based Systems (SBS) every business day.

Repetition and Carryover

Carryover Rules

No excess CE credit hours may be carried over to the next license term.

Repetition Rules

You cannot repeat the same course within 3 years from the original course completion date.

Non-Resident New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Non-resident Insurance CE Requirements

Non-resident licensees that do not complete CE in their home state must complete New Mexico’s CE requirements.

Exemptions from New Mexico Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance CE Exemptions

Producers are exempt from continuing education if one of the following is true:
  • The producer holds a limited license.
  • The producer has been an agent, solicitor, nonresident agent, or nonresident broker for 25 years or more.
  • The producer maintains a license solely for the purposes of receiving renewal fee residuals and does not otherwise transact the business of insurance.
  • The producer is an agent of a fraternal benefit society.
  • The non-resident producer has met the CE requirements of his or her home state.

New Mexico Insurance Contact Info

Office of the Superintendent of Insurance


WebCE® provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither WebCE nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.
Last updated on 1/23/2018