Online Continuing Education Courses

Rhode Island CPA CPE Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education

Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your CPE Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop-down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Rhode Island CPA CPE Requirements

NASBA CPE Sponsor ID: 109414

Rhode Island's Acceptance: Rhode Island accepts courses from providers that are members of NASBA's National Registry of CPE Sponsors.

What are the CPA CPE requirements for Rhode Island?

120 hours during each 3 year cycle (80 hour self-study limit)

Are there any subject area requirements for Rhode Island CPA CPE?

CPA Ethics: 6 hours of ethics CPE

When does Rhode Island CPA CPE have to be completed?

7/1 - 6/30 triennially

Can CPA CPE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be taken for credit more than once in a 3-year reporting period.

Are there any CPA CPE credit type limits?

  • Instruction: Maximum 60 hours
  • Published Materials: Maximum 60 hours
  • Personal Development and Marketing: Maximum 24 hours
  • Self-Study: Maximum 80 hours

Can CPA CPE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess hours earned in a CPE cycle may not be carried forward to a subsequent CPE cycle.

What is the Rhode Island CPA license renewal process?

Renewal notices will be sent out via email only. Permits are issued for three (3)-year terms and renewals are due on June 30 of that third year. This is a hard deadline that you are responsible for meeting. There are penalties for late renewal. You will only be able to renew once you receive the email. CPAs will attest under the penalties of perjury as to compliance with the Rhode Island Continuing Professional Education (CPE) requirements and to retain documentation of such compliance, which is subject to audit by the Board.

Renew online

What are the WebCE Rhode Island CPA CPE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are NASBA QAS self-study with non-monitored open-book final exams. Students should read through course material then complete exam.
  • Passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Rhode Island CPA CPE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase.

How often does WebCE report Rhode Island CPA CPE course completions?

WebCE does not report CPE course completions to the Accountancy Board of Rhode Island.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Rhode Island CPA CPE courses?

Online PDF Certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the final exam is passed. CPAs should maintain written evidence of completion for a period of 4 years following the completion of each reporting activity.

Are there any CPE exemptions?

The Board may in its discretion, on an individual basis, make exceptions for the required CPE completion time (extensions) for good cause shown, such as reasons of health, military service, foreign residence, retirement or for such other reasons as the Board may determine reasonable.

Who to contact for additional questions

Rhode Island Board of Accountancy

NASBA Registry

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 2/15/2024