Online Continuing Education Courses

South Dakota Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education

Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop-down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

South Dakota Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 743

What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for South Dakota?

  • Life/Health OR Property/Casualty licenses: 10 CE hours total
  • Combined Life/Health AND Property/Casualty licenses: 20 CE hours total
  • Crop and Life/Health and Property/Casualty licenses (2 Crop/8 P&C/10 L&H): 20 CE hours total
  • Crop and Life/Health licenses (2 Crop/8 L&H): 10 CE hours total
  • Crop and Property/Casualty licenses (2 Crop/8 P&C): 10 CE hours total
  • Farm Mutual Producers or Personal Lines Producers: 10 CE hours total
  • Crop Only licenses: 4 CE hours total

Are there any course approval restrictions for South Dakota Insurance CE?

Licensees must complete courses approved for the line of insurance they are licensed to sell.
  • General credit hours may be applied to either life/health or property/casualty credits but not crop/hail.
  • General credit hours for combined L/H and P/C licensees will be applied to the L/H requirement first, then P/C.
  • Life/Health AND Property/Casualty = 20 CE credits (10 L/H CE credits and 10 P/C CE credits)
  • Crop/Hail AND Life/Health = 10 CE credits (2 Crop/Hail CE credits and 8 L/H CE credits)
  • Crop/Hail AND Property/Casualty = 10 CE credits (2 Crop/Hail CE credits and 8 P/C CE credits)
  • Crop/Hail, Life/Health AND Property Casualty = 20 CE credits (2 Crop/Hail CE credits, 8 P/C CE credits, and 10 L/H CE credits)
  • A producer may not receive more than one-half of the required CE hours during any 2-year period from courses sponsored by any one insurance company.

When does South Dakota Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the producer’s birth month, every 2 years.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for South Dakota?

Annuity Best Interest Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to South Dakota law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for South Dakota?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: State-approved training must be completed by July 1st in even years, following the initial training requirement.

Non-Residents who have taken the initial 8-hour long-term care partnership course for another state, must complete a state-approved Medicaid training course before selling LTC insurance products in South Dakota.

LTC Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for South Dakota?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be completed to sell flood insurance products.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess hours may not be carried over into the next 2-year license term.

What is the South Dakota Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic renewals will be available 90 days prior to the expiration date
  2. Continuing Education requirements must be met prior to submission of a renewal application.
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE South Dakota Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study courses.
  • Students should read through every chapter of the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
  • Self-study exams are open-book and do not require a monitor.
  • Final exam passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE South Dakota Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report South Dakota Insurance CE course completions?

Immediately upon completion of course to Sircon.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for South Dakota Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees must keep a copy of each certificate of completion in his or her file for a minimum of 2 years.

What are the South Dakota Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Nonresidents are exempt from all CE requirements in South Dakota. A non-resident who has completed the initial long-term care training in another state with a substantially similar requirement will still need to complete the state required 2 hour Long-term Care Medicaid training.

Are there any CE exemptions?

The following are exempt from South Dakota's CE requirements:
  • A producer holding a limited license to sell only credit life and credit health insurance.
  • A producer outside the United States or its territories.
  • A producer who is a resident attorney licensed to practice law in South Dakota.
  • A producer who is a transportation ticket producer of common carriers holding a limited license to sell only travel accident and baggage insurance.
  • A producer who is an employee of a trade association holding a limited license to sell only surety bonds to its association members.
  • A producer who is licensed to sell only bail bonds.
  • Individuals who have reached the age of 65 prior July 1, 2006 and have been licensed in South Dakota for at least 10 years as of July 1, 2006.
  • Licensees over age 65, if they have been licensed in South Dakota for at least 10 years and do not sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance.
  • Limited lines producers are exempt from CE requirements (examples include limited lines credit insurance, travel accident insurance, and rental car insurance producers).
Producers must notify the South Dakota Division of Insurance in writing if he/she falls under one of the exemption categories.

Does South Dakota require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

South Dakota Division of Insurance


This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 6/10/2024