Online Continuing Education Courses

Texas Funeral Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education

Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop-down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Texas Funeral Continuing Education Requirements

Funeral Continuing Education Provider Number: 206

What are the Funeral Continuing Education requirements for Texas?

16 hours total

Are there any subject area requirements for Texas Funeral CE?

  • Ethics: 2 CE hours
  • Vital Statistics: 2 CE hours
  • TX Mortuary Law: 2 CE hours

When does Texas Funeral CE have to be completed?

Every two years beginning on the first day of the licensee's birth month

Can Funeral CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

Are there any Funeral CE credit type limits?

Due to COVID-19, the "in-person" requirement has been waived until further notice.

Can Funeral CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Licensees may carryover up to 10 CE hours to their next renewal period if written request is sent to the board at least 30 days prior to renewal. Ethics, Law and Vital Statistics courses are not allowed to be carried over to the next renewal cycle.

What is the Texas Funeral license renewal process?

A license may be renewed beginning 60 days prior to its expiration if the licensee has paid the renewal fee and met the continuing education requirements. Funeral professionals are required to report course credit hours earned to the Funeral Commission as part of the license renewal process.

Renew online

Renewals will be required to be submitted online through an online renewal account. Paper renewal applications will no longer be accepted. For more information please visit Online Renewal Instructions.

What are the WebCE Texas Funeral CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are online approved self-study courses with non-monitored open-book final exams. Students should read through course material then complete exam.
  • Passing score: 70%
  • If the final exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Texas Funeral CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase

How often does WebCE report Texas Continuing Education course completions?

WebCE does not report course completions to the Texas Funeral Service Commission.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Texas Funeral CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the final exam is passed. Licensees should keep all certificates a minimum of 2 years for state auditing purposes.

What are the Texas Funeral CE requirements for non-residents?

  • All funeral professionals holding a valid funeral director or embalmer license in the state of Texas are required to meet the Texas continuing education requirements.
  • Funeral professionals licensed in Texas who are NOT PRACTICING in the state and hold an INACTIVE secondary status must only obtain 2 hours in Ethics, 2 hours in Texas Mortuary Law and 2 hours in Vital Statistics.

Are there any CE exemptions?

  • An individual whose renewal date is 12 months or less following initial licensure is exempt from Texas CE requirement.
  • The Executive Director may authorize full or partial hardship exemptions based on personal or family circumstances and may require documentation of such circumstances. The hardship request must be submitted in writing at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the license. Hardship exemptions will not be granted for consecutive licensing periods.
  • Licensees aged 65 older will be placed in Retired, Active status and are exempt from CE.
  • Licensees with a disability of 75% or greater will be placed in a Disabled, Active or Disabled, Inactive status and are exempt from CE.

Who to contact for additional questions

Texas Funeral Service Commission

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 3/13/2024