Online Continuing Education Courses

Texas Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Quality, Online Professional Education


Course Catalog Sign In

Satisfy Your Continuing Education Requirements with WebCE

WebCE is your one-stop-shop for all your professional education requirement needs. We provide education courses for multiple industries and professions. Whether you are studying to become a licensed professional, fulfilling your continuing education or just learning something new, WebCE can help with our affordable pricing and easy-to-use platform. Our goal is to make completing your education requirements as simple as possible. We have your course requirements listed below, as well as on the catalog page.

If you have any questions, feel free to call our support services as 877-488-9308. To view the course catalog, select your license type from the drop down menu and select refresh.

Current Catalog:

Texas Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

Insurance Continuing Education Provider Number: 46877


What are the Insurance Continuing Education requirements for Texas?

Producers & Adjusters

24 CE hours total; including:
  • Ethics: 2 CE hours
    For licensees renewing on or after 9/30/2022: Ethics hours will increase to 3 CE hours.
  • Classroom or Classroom Equivalent: Minimum 12 CE hours

Limited Lines

10 CE hours total, including:
  • Ethics: 2 CE hours
    For licensees renewing on or after 9/30/2022: Ethics hours will increase to 3 CE hours.
  • Classroom or Classroom Equivalent: Minimum 5 CE hours

Are there any course approval restrictions for Texas Insurance CE?

Licensees may take courses in any line of authority.

When does Texas Insurance CE have to be completed?

The last day of the licensee birth month, every 2 years.

Can Insurance CE courses be repeated?

Courses cannot be repeated more than once in a 2 year license term.

What are the Annuity Training requirements for Texas?

Annuity Best Interest Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training of a 4-Hour Annuity Suitability and Best Interest Standards course must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Effective September 1, 2021, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards.
  • Licensees who have already completed an annuity training course prior to 1/1/2022 may complete either a 4-hour annuity best interest course or the new 1-hour annuity best interest course. At this time, TDI is still accepting completions of the 1-hour course.
  • Licensees who have not completed an annuity course prior to 1/1/2022 must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 2-year license term following the initial 4-hour training completion.

Residents and non-residents who have satisfied the annuity best interest training requirements of another state that are similar to Texas' law will be deemed compliant for Texas' annuity best interest training requirement. Non-residents are exempt from the ongoing annuity training requirement.

Annuity Training Information

What are the Long-Term Care Training requirements for Texas?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every license period, following the initial training requirement.

Residents & non-residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Texas' law will be deemed compliant for Texas' requirement.

LTC Training Information

What are the Medicare Training requirements for Texas?

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling Medicare products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every license period, following the initial training requirement.

Medicare Training Information

What are the Flood Training requirements for Texas?

NFIP Flood Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling flood insurance products.

Flood Training Information

Can Insurance CE course hours carry over to the next renewal cycle?

Excess credit hours may not be carried forward to the next 2-year license term.

What is the Texas Insurance license renewal process?

  1. Electronic renewals will be available 90 days prior to the expiration date
  2. Continuing Education requirements must be met prior to submission of a renewal application. There’s a $50 fine for every hour not completed on time, up to a maximum of $500 per license. Licensees won't be able to renew license until your continuing education is complete, and/or paid any fines.
  3. Complete renewal application and submit fees.
Renew online

What are the WebCE Texas Insurance CE course requirements?

  • WebCE courses are classified as online self-study or online classroom equivalent courses.
  • Self-Study Course Presentation:
    • Students should read through the course material for each course before attempting a final exam.
    • Self-study exams are open-book and do not require a monitor.
    • Self-study final exam passing score: 70%
  • Classroom Equivalent Courses:
    • Students must take and pass a series of interactive quizzes throughout the course with a minimum score of 70 percent for each interactive quiz.
    • Classroom equivalent courses do not have final exams.
  • If the final exam or interactive quizzes are not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.

What is the access period for WebCE Texas Insurance CE courses?

12 months from the original date of purchase, unless otherwise posted on the course description page and student dashboard.

How often does WebCE report Texas Insurance CE course completions?

Immediately upon course completion to Sircon.

Does WebCE supply a certificate of completion for Texas Insurance CE courses?

Online PDF certificates of completion are available to print immediately after the course is completed. Licensees are required to maintain the original certificates of completion in their files for a minimum of 4 years from the date of completion.

What are the Texas Insurance CE requirements for non-residents?

Non-residents are exempt if in good standing in resident state.

Are there any CE exemptions?

The following may be exempt from Texas CE requirements:
  • Individuals who have been licensed in Texas continuously for 20 or more years with no gaps in licensure longer than 90 days may apply for an exemption
  • Extensions or exemptions for good cause may be granted by the Education Coordinator
  • Exemptions must be requested in writing
  • A producer may be exempt for other CE but is not exempt from the Certification course nor the associated CE for the programs they may be performing in the acts of an agent (Small Employer, Annuities, LTCP, Medicare-related Products).

Does Texas require any workplace compliance training?

Who to contact for additional questions

Texas Department of Insurance

Sircon

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. WebCE makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, WebCE is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein. We urge you to check with your state's licensing department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Last updated on 6/3/2022